Tuesday, Janary 24, 2012

20 Minutes to:

Learn/practice Front & Back Squat

OR

1. Front Squat: work up to a single @ 90%, then 1 set of 2 @ 85%
2. Back Squat: 1 set of 1 @ 95%, then 2×2 @ 85%
 
-then-
 
Choose a version:

“In a boat”
21-15-9
Row (Calories)
Jerks (135#/95#)
Box Jumps (24”/20”)

OR

“In a tree”
21-15-9
Chest-to-bar Pull Ups
Jerks (135#/95#)
Box Jumps (24”/20”)

Ah, sleds!

Published in: on January 23, 2012 at 9:24 pm  Comments (20)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/tuesday-janary-24-2012/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m supervising. When he starts to fade I give him accolades and say motivational things.

    • Ha!!! You do look mighty relaxed, Bob. As for Christian, if those ropes were to break, he’d be face down on the pavement.

      p.s. In honor of today’s workout, I will try not to be a great big box-jump baby. Or, if I must be a baby, at least I will try to be this one:

      • Cute!

    • Thank is a horrendous photo. But now o know why it was so hard – my right ankle appears to have disconnected from my body!

  2. Front squat: 120#? Not sure where we wound up.
    Back squat: 135#

    Metcon: 13:45, red band for CTB and jumps on small box with two stacked yellow plates. (Terri, this is much friendlier than the red box, really. Maybe because it is a little shorter? I’m just saying.)

    • I’m back to freezing up on the small box with NO plates. 😦

  3. Hate that I’m on the road and missing all these fun WODs. Today’s travel WOD: 100 push-ups, 100 sit-ups, 100 squats for time. 13:40.

    Sigh.

    • Working out while traveling is tough. Good for you!

      • Thanks, Pat. I usually can get a run in, but most hotels lack the equipment for anything but body weight moves or weighted lunges. Besides, I miss working out with everyone!

  4. Skipped the lifts due to back issues. Instead I did some mobility work and squat therapy.

    Metcon in a boat:
    13:56, RX

  5. Back is still bothering me so just tried a few back squats. Front Squats I used 215 and 205.

    Metcon – rowed (RX) 9:08. Lots of energy today at noon.

  6. tough wod for me…

    FS- worked up to 220#

    BS- worked up to 235- ran out of time

    Metcon: 13:07 (Rx)

  7. 185#FS
    205#BS
    Metcon: 12:37 with 115# (too heavy). But at least I learned how to hold my wrists during jerks!

  8. FS: 80 (slightly more than my 90 percent) Don’t think I got low enough because …

    BS: 75# (20# lighter than my 90 percent)

    Need to work with a target from now on.

    Metcon: 12:33 in the boat with 45# and a short stack of plates. Struggling lately with terrible box jump fear and needed to have a fun, happy day at the gym.

    • Just keep doing something, T! It gets better!

  9. Liz, Jen G & I shared a rack for front & back squats. I did 85# front squat & more on back squats but don’t remember lbs.

    Metcon in a boat with 55# jerks
    15:11

    p.s. I’m feeling very discouraged about not being able to string DUs together. Maybe we could have another remedial jump rope class.

    • You. Will. Get it. It’s going to click.

  10. Felt a little muscle spasm on the first set of warmup front squats so I pretty much blew of the first part of the work out and just warmed up for the metcon.

    11:01 RX. Could have found two seconds somewhere if I was watching the clock…dammit.

  11. front sqt: 130#
    back sqt: 155#

    metcon:
    20:49 @ 85#
    took me a while…maybe should have done 75# but i’m happy with this

  12. Made this up on Thursday: 13:xx with c2b pullups and 60# for jerks.


Leave a Reply

