Friday, January 13, 2012

10 Minutes to find a 1 Rep “Max for today” Front Squat

NOTE: This is may or may not be a “true” 1RM; the goal is 1 heaviest possible “good rep” & then you are done.

-then-

4 Rounds For Time:
20 Pull Ups
30 Push Ups
40 Squats
400 Meter Run

Welcome back Erica!!

Published in: on January 12, 2012 at 9:01 pm  Comments (26)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/friday-january-13-2012/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

26 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yay, Erica!!! xo

    p.s. I’m sick. AGAIN.
    p.p.s. I hate winter.

    • Yes, great to see Erica! Terri: get well!!

  2. Wow! What a workout. 31:52 RX.

    No pull-up bands.

    • Awesome!

    • Super star with the pullups!

    • LIKE!

  3. Wonderful way to start the day!
    Joy 85# front squat
    Liz 80# PR

    WOD
    Joy pull ups w/ red & tiny red 32:31
    Liz green band and knee push ups ca. 33:40 plus extra credit for starting a fifth round. πŸ™‚

  4. Harder than it looks but a fun one. 22:14. Rx

    • Oh. And 170 FS. First attempt at a 1RM on this. So that’s a PR baseline.

  5. 95# front squat (pr of 18#)
    30:52 with the wod (used purple band for pullups)

  6. Did a version of this yesterday…

    5×5 FS…. Worked up to 195#

    Metcon: 21:01 (Rx)
    Rds 1 & 3 (20 pullups)
    Rds 2 & 4 (20 kbs 70#)

  7. Front Squat, 155#. PR is 181. That “spot” in my lower left back is talking to me a little bit again after the heavier workouts earlier in the week. I decided to be smart and listen to it and not try to lift heavy. ALTHOUGH, I was strongly tempted, but the universe (and Kelly) prevailed; I listened to reason and stopped at 155.

    Metcon:
    35:39 using my blue band for pullups. That seems like a slow time, but I felt like I was hauling a$$. πŸ˜‰

  8. Front squat: 115#
    Metcon: 30:09, with knee pushups, pullups Rx.

  9. Front Squat 145# PR
    29:30 with knee push-ups and a purple band. Holy crap it was cold. I saw a few snow flakes on Brittany’s black jacket as I tried to keep up (which didn’t last long).

    • woah!! awesome

    • Very nice, Sue!!

  10. front sqt: 145# PR by 26#s (this is higher than my back squat now)

    metcon: 28:36 RX

    …and I noticed, Kelly, that you played one of the songs I wrote on the board AWESOME! didn’t actually think I’d hear it πŸ™‚

    • Damn, Jess!! Strong!

  11. #100 front squat.
    The most weight I’ve ever lifted in a front squat before today was #55.
    Thanks to the skills class last night, I felt more confindence with this movement. I’ve always had a hard time keeping my elbows up and I felt like my form was better today.

    28:23
    ring rows (shoulder issue)
    knee push ups

    • I swear I know how to spell…… confidence πŸ™‚

  12. FS: 135 PR (14#)

    Metcon: 29:45
    Mods– green band and knee pushups on round 3 and 4

    • Hey! DId you start round 2? Did you subtract 2 minutes off your time?

      • No, I actually switched with Jess, so I went round 1. Thanks for checking!

  13. Thanks for the pic!

    FS at 125

    Metcon 27:08 RX

  14. I made up Friday’s workout today!

    Time: 39:00 …to the T!

    I also found out I can do chest to bars (with bands).

    Sweet

  15. I made up Friday on Sunday as well.

    42 ish RX
    Slow but I think all are improving


Leave a Reply

