Friday, March 25, 2011

“Fight Gone Bad”

In this workout you move from each of five stations after a minute. This is a five-minute round from which a one-minute break is allowed before repeating. The stations are:

3 rounds of:

Wall-ball: 20/14 pound ball, 10 ft target. (Reps)
Sumo deadlift high-pull: 75/55 pounds (Reps)
Box Jump: 20″ box (Reps)
Push-press: 75/55 pounds (Reps)
Row: calories (Calories)

The clock does not reset or stop between exercises. On call of “rotate,” the athlete/s must move to next station immediately for good score. One point is given for each rep, except on the rower where each calorie is one point.

Paul is hosting a Paleo Pampered Chef Party next Thursday, March 31st. Click HERE for more details!

Published in: on March 24, 2011 at 9:30 pm  Comments (37)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/friday-march-25-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Poo. I would like to do FGB because I can smell a PR in the air, but Dr. Cho is being strict with me about the angry disc restrictions. :-/

  2. I would have liked to do FGB but there was another trainer no-show at 5:30 am. What the heck happened?

    • I apologize for the no-show Wade…I was supposed to be there this morning, but messed up.

  3. hey… that’s me in that picture… 🙂

  4. Who is that hot chick with all the tattoos?

  5. Dear morning crew:

    My apologies to you who showed up for FGB this morning but found the doors locked and lights out. I was scheduled to open today but for no good reason did not. I will do my best to never let this happen again.

    ~michael

    • Don’t let it ruin your day Michael, everybody has mornings like that 🙂

  6. Just a suggestion FWIW — I know nobody’s perfect and stuff happens, but it’s really a bummer to get up early and motivate yourself to get out of bed to work out, just to get there and find the place dark. It seems to me there could be a contact number posted that the 5:30 group can call if nobody shows to open. Maybe another coach could get there in time for them to get some kind of workout in. Certainly by 6:30 some contingency plan can be made so TWO groups don’t have to get up early and miss the WOD. I know this doesn’t happen often, but it’s happened enough lately that maybe some plan can be put into place for how to deal with it better next time.

    • I agree. This is certainly going to happen from time to time, so having a plan in place for when it does makes sense to me.

    • i agree with this. i do not attend the early groups but i can speak for my roommate who does. she works a lot as it is and is very tired every day she comes home. for her to get up 2 hours early to get a workout in just to find out that someone didn’t open the gym is very frustrating for her. i understand that people make mistakes but there has to be something that can be done.

  7. CFRX morning crew,
    I would first off like to apologize for those of you who took time out of your already busy days to come to our gym and workout and find the doors locked. I can imagine your frustration. That being said, I love hearing your suggestions! Mike N., I can’t believe I haven’t thought about putting my number up on the door already, GREAT idea…Done! I live 6 blocks away and should this happen again, would be more than happy to run up there and make sure that NO classes are missed. I know its difficult to not get hostile about the situation, but I appreciate everyone’s positive approach to ensure that this doesn’t happen again…We as your coaches will do our best to make sure it doesn’t!

    See you all tonight!!

    • Well, that was an easy fix! Thank you Kelly. And thank you Mike for the suggestion. And Michael, I still love you. 🙂

  8. One more note…If you are unable to attend anyone of our “normal” scheduled classes today. I will be more than happy to keep the doors open at 7 for another “Fight Gone Bad”…

    just let me know 🙂

  9. Oh…and yet another note…
    Nice job Paul!!! The Paleo party is gonna be awesome! cant wait! Count Jessie and I in

  10. I’d love to get the wod in tonight. I could make a 630 or 7pm session, if it is an option!

    • Done! Bring Christian too if he’s in town

  11. Sorry to hear about the morning crew. Hope those that missed get in to make it up. 9am crew did a great job. Lots of first-time FGB peeps and TPoole got a PR!
    I had to do it solo since I can’t come back for the noon. My only goal was to beat Andrew (who has only been doing CF a short while). Barely made it with 285.
    Someone needs to set timer 5 for 17 intervals bc it’s only set for 15. 🙂

    • Nice job CStreet!!

      That was tough…
      247 PR I was hoping for better but I’ll take it!
      Fun group this am, sorry I had to ditch out before the second group finished.

  12. Hey gang,

    Thank you all for the Awesome suggestions & positivity in the wake of my mistake this a.m.. While I can’t turn back the clock, I would like to make ammends personally by doing two things:

    Thing 1: Anyone who came to the gym this morning before 6:38, please email me (nzk7@cdc.gov) if you would like to schedule a free 45 minute skill-session…I will do my best to accomodate your schedule, regardless of timing, and we can work on any of your crossfit “goats” (or basic climbing/jujitsu/bike-repair/olympic fencing/Pose running/whatever). Just let me know 😉

    Thing 2: I will definitely stay @ the gym tonight from 7-8 to make sure everyone has an opportunity to do FGB…

    again, mea culpa
    ~michael

    • This is very nice of you Michael. I hope you are not being to hard on yourself. you are not the only one who has made this mistake and plus you are human… we do fail at things all the time. i know from personal experience.. lol 🙂 i hope that you have a good rest of the day and remember, it is ok… 🙂

  13. FGB: 255, RX.
    That’s a PR by 33 points over my September FGB. Last time I did stepups (2 for 1) instead of Box Jumps. The last time I did FGB with box jumps my score was 217. Today’s score makes me really happy. 😀

    WB: 20/15/12=47
    SDHP: 18/15/15=48
    BJ: 12/12/10=34
    pp: 40/26/30=96
    ROW: 10/10/10=30
    Started with Push Press.

    • Impressive PR, Pat. Congrats!

    • way to go pat!!!! that’s really awesome..

    • That’s great, Pat!

  14. woohoo!!!

  15. total=188

    so i think this was the break down:

    box-27/20/20
    row-10/9/9
    wb-7/7/7
    pp-13/10/9
    sdlhp-15/12/13

  16. Hello all! Just that, and I miss CFRX!

    • we miss you too. Come back soon!

    • come back!!

  17. I am pleased that I am finally able to do RX weights and box jumps. Only still scaling the wall ball. I did get the 10# closer to the target this time, too. 181
    WB: 12/13/13
    SDLHP: 17/17/17
    BJ: 11/10/10
    PP: 13/10/9
    Row: 9/10/10

  18. Almost forgot to shout out to Lindsey who got back on the 20″ box today! Way to get back on it, Lindsey!

  19. 287
    5 points up from the last time I did in July 2010. I took the time to write down my counts for each portion and probably lost a few reps each round for that. But I thought I was important for consistent tracking.

    Box 47/32/31
    PP 31/18/16
    Row 11/8/8
    WB 17/12/11
    SDHP 18/13/14

    I didn’t blow it out on round one like I usually do, and I noticed my round scores for 2 & 3 didn’t drop as much.

  20. i was really pleased with today’s workout. 🙂

    201 reps (RX)

    Im not sure of the station break down. i didnt want to waste time writing my numbers down after each station so i just kept count of the reps per round.

    1st round-74
    2nd round-66
    3rd round-61

  21. 308! (PR by 37 reps!)

  22. Had such a fun workout tonight with Radha and Kelly at 7pm, i did 180! (PR, but used a 8# ball, everything else RX) Thanks Michael for staying late and letting us workout 🙂

  23. First time on this. 290. Rx.

  24. […] Compare to 110325. […]


Leave a Reply

