Monday, February 14, 2011

MUAH, Terri! We love you, too! Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

12 minutes to establish a 1rm Box Squat

-then-

15 minute AMRAP of:

10 Ring Pull-Up/Ring K2E (pull-up + K2E = one rep)
20 OHS 75/55lbs
Run 400m

Published in: on February 13, 2011 at 7:37 pm  Comments (37)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2011/02/13/monday-february-14-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, that’s perfect, Terri. Love it. Thank you for writing it and sharing it!

    • Yes, that is a great V-day poem!!

  2. Perfect perfect perfect. A perfect expression of the lovefest that is our gym.

    • Oh, and I love the part where Rudy rhymes with booty. 🙂

  3. Awesome Terri!

  4. Terri! You rock! =) Happy Valentines day all!

  5. Yeha, Terri!!

  6. Love the poem, Terri!

    Also loved today’s little burner metcon.

    3 rounds + 10 + 20 OHS rx

    1 rm box squat: 154#

    Heading in for my glucose tolerance test. Just decided to read up on any preparation required and it says “do not eat, drink, smoke, or exercise strenuously for at least 8 hours before your first blood test.” Oops. The only thing I didn’t do is smoke!

    • you probably should have a smoke then to really mess up the test then

      • haha!

  7. First time doing box squat and got up to 264, but felt like I could do some more. Just ran out of time. Felt good about the metcon til seeing Erica’s time. Maybe I will finally beat her in something when she is 8 months pregnant. 3 rds plus 1 ring thing.

    • what was your round count?

      • Did 3 rounds plus one ring pull up/K2E. OHS were unbroken rounds 1 and 2, round 3 was 15/5. I lost time on rings.

  8. First time with box squats. Ended at 179, but may have been able to do a bit more.

    Metcon: 3 rounds + 5 ring pull-up / knees to elbows (Rx)
    Pretty much winded the whole time. Relatively happy with the OHS broken 14/6, 10/5/5, 10/5/5.

  9. Love the poem, and it’s inspired me to come back tomorrow. I’ve been MIA for a little over 2 weeks now… the first week was planned b.c I had a ski trip, but then I hurt my hand/wrist on my trip (not skiing ironically, long story…). Anyway, it’s still not okay (doc said to come back at the end of Feb if it’s not better), but I know you guys will be able to help me work around it. I can’t even put enough pressure on it to get in a plank position right now… dammit! I see lots of legs, abs, running in my future… see the 530am crew tomorrow!

    • Good to hear from you. I was just thinking about you yesterday and wondering why I had not seen you on the blog. Glad you’ll be back soon.

    • You can definitely work around it. I’ve worked around a back injury and an elbow injury (not at the same time, thank heavens). There’s always something you can do!

      Looking forward to seeing you soon!

  10. Wow. Hallmark just called. Can I be your agent?

  11. Unfortunately, I’m still coughing quite a bit so I’m gonna have to postpone until Thursday – arg!

    • your WOD should you choose to accept it:

      AMRAP 15 min

      10 Boomer deadlift high pulls (that is as least 25 lbs)
      10 Ollie-meter sprints (bring out his cage, he’ll start sprinting, you chase)
      10 Brother push jerks (switch arms with cats half-way, boomer is fatter)

      Get better!!

  12. Took advatage of no 7AM meeting and slept an extra hour. I’m now off call and back to the 5:30 crew starting tomorrow. See you there Jen!
    First time for box sqts 141# (definitely not a max but a good start)

    Struggled some on the ring pullups/KTE initially able to string a few together then one at a time.
    2 rds + 12 OHS RX

  13. Glad you like my love poem to the gym! (I wrote a love poem to the gym. Isn’t that weird?)

    Box squat 1RM = 96#

    AMRAP = 2 rounds + 5 pull ups + 3 knees toward elbows | junior bar for OHS

    Goal for this workout: Run faster to see whether it kills me. Goal not achieved. 😦 (Although I’m definitely not dead, I didn’t run any faster so I still don’t know whether it will kill me.)

    • You are too funny, Terri. I look forward to your posts every day.

  14. 220# Box Squat; first time doing these for 1RM.

    AMRAP (modified as follows since I don’t have unassisted pullups; used red+my tiny purple for pullups)
    5 Pullups (on bar)
    5 KTE (on bar)
    5 Pullups (on bar)
    5 KTE (on bar)
    20 OHS, 55#
    Run 400M
    2 rounds + all Pullups & KTE + 15 OHS

    • Wow, Pat! Great box squat!

      • yeah, damn good.

  15. 3rds exactly…well i was crossing the finish line at 15:04. My K2E turned into Toes through rings…not sure why, it just happened.

    OHS were 20 unbroken…then sets of 10.

    Erica…you are a beast.

    • Erica appears only to be drawing further strength and speed from the presence of the small human inside her.

      • I know! what’s up with that?

  16. This was not my favorite workout…

    I did like the box squats, though. 204lbs 1 rep max

    2rds + 10 ring-pull-up-thingys + 10 OHS
    OHS really suck the big one. I gotta learn to relax my wrists…they really bother me with this movement.

    • Erin, my wrists hurt like hell if I put my hands where they are “supposed” to be. If I move them in a tad, I have no pain in my wrists. It makes all the difference for me.

      • Where do you move them? I need to keep working on making this move more comfortable…instead of just avoiding it (like I would like to do). Great job today, by the way!

        • Thanks! I have to use a narrower grip to avoid wrist pain. I put my index finger on the smooth band part of the bar, rather than outside of that where it is recommended. My stability suffers a little, but I can control that better than I can handle the wrist pain!

  17. 176# box squat

    3 rounds + 10 + 20 Rx

    Terri, I love your love poem to the gym!

  18. 130 lb box squats, and I had a lot more in me.
    Metcon with green band pullups and KTE, 33 lb bar for OHS

    2 rounds + 5/5/3

    • Nice box squat, Ruth!

  19. The gym loves Terri back! xoxo

    I have apparently done 110 box squats so I was a little disappointed to try that today (twice) & didn’t get it. Maybe I wasn’t fighting hard enough or maybe my posterior chain was fatigued! So 98# was most successful.

    AMRAP: 3 rounds + 5 pull ups w/my tiny red + 4 knees toward elbows


Leave a Reply

