Tuesday, October 19, 2010

“Bulger”

Ten rounds of:
Run 150 meters
7 Chest to bar pull-ups
135 pound Front squat, 7 reps
7 Handstand push-ups

Kevin Montoya 18:20, Michael Giardina 19:54, Kim Malz 29:16 (95lbs).




Canadian Forces Corporal Nicholas Bulger, 30, of Peterborough, Ontario, assigned to the 3rd Battalion of Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, based out of Edmonton, Alberta, died July 3, 2009 while on patrol in the Zhari district of Afghanistan when an improvised explosive device exploded near his vehicle. Cpl. Bulger is survived by his wife Rebeka, and daughters Brookelynn and Elizabeth.

 

Published in: on October 18, 2010 at 8:48 pm  Comments (30)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/tuesday-october-19-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LET’S PLAY!!!
    Join us Saturday October 23, 2010 from 7pm to midnight for a fun game night at CrossFit Rx!  Crossfit trivia, poker, spades, scrabble, light snacks, and cake! (BYOB)
    There will be lots of great door prizes and raffles!!$20.00 donation recommended. Jacquelyn’s mom, Elizabeth, is on daily dialysis and is on the kidney transplant list. We have until July 30, 2011 to raise $10,000 for her transplant in order for the Georgia Kidney Foundation to match the donations.  Many of us talk about WODs of life.  This is one of them.  “Lizzie”
     3…2…1…Go!

    • only 5 days left until a super fun event! hope to see you all there! 🙂

    • We look forward to it!!

    • Can’t wait.

    • Great company, snacks, door prizes, games AND a good cause! Rumor has it that we will see some familiar faces as dealers and the evening’s MC… 😉

    • I am very much looking forward to this….

    • See you there!! 😀

    • woohoo!

  2. This is a WOD that I would not do based on the fact that it looks too hard. I am sooo going to do this. I have to claim it to you guys so that I have no choice but to do it.

    Next post will be results.

    • Nope. Didn’t happen…but I got back from work at 10pm..wasn’t feelin it then!

  3. Did today’s HQ. Lots and lots of rounds. A little feeling of insanity sets in about round 6 or 7. All pullups and front squats unbroken and HSPU were a 4/3 split (for the most part)

    As rX- 26:21

    • I was still going when you left so I didn’t get to tell you how AWESOME you did… nice job! And ditto that to anyone who does this one.

  4. Brutal. Front squats @ 103 lbs. HSPUs were my downfall after about 3 or 4 rounds. Last 3 rounds of HSPUs were done in harness.

    52:55

  5. Front squats at 110#.
    HSPUs all kipping to one abmat. Hands on 15k plates in round 1, no plates in round 2 and 5k plates in rounds 3 to 10.

    54:40

  6. Manageable with the mods, but still very hard.

    39:03

    77# front squats, all unbroken. Pretty light but it helped me mentally to be able to do one thing unbroken. Pull-ups were 3/2/2. HSPUs were mostly 2s and 1s. I wasn’t getting full range of motion so I used a harness for the last 3 rounds.

    Damon said I was being a Diva this morning. I need an attitude adjustment. 🙂

  7. Wasn’t horrible for me, but that’s b.c I had numerous mods to help out.

    CTB pullups – black band (beige band with black mark on it)
    Front Squats – 66#
    HSPUs – 24″ box (promise to move to harness for next WOD that has HSPUs)

    38:23

  8. Reached my time limit of ~30 min at 7 rds. I know that it is bad when the run was my favorite part. blue + tiny for pull-ups, green/black for HSPU (still working on ROM), 66# FS

  9. wow. this was a lot harder than I had anticipated

    42:47
    w/ HSPU on the flat mat. First set and a half were largely strict, then I added kipping, and cussing came around on set 4

    Front Squats were harder than I expected too – but those were unbroken in all but one, maybe two rounds

    CTB – unbroken on at 8 sets I think. I actually felt these were my favorite part, only because the rest tortued me

    • dude, way to rock this long sucker out!
      the top of my head is now officially sore from getting to the bottom of all of those HSPUs and having to “rest” before kipping up…ug 😉

  10. Noon Growlery:

    Used 66# for the power cleans and missed 1. This exercise was such great practice for this lift, and my form improved. I’m still pulling early on many (most? all?) of them, but I’m not pulling until I stand up, which is a big step forward.

    For the metcon, used an abmat for the jumps because I suck at jumping. Completed 3 rounds plus 9 burpee/jumpy things.

  11. Hey noon-ers today – thanks for letting me come in and play along. Y’all have great gym with great energy! Around round 7, though, I think Laura turned up the gravity on those front squats. Learned how to kip a HSPU towards the end, necessity being the mother of the kip. Thanks for the hospitality and the really sucky WOD!

    • Great to have you doing the WOD with me!

      • Scott, I would’ve wandered into Radial for a red velvet pancake after 6 rounds if you weren’t there…great work.

        And Michael, thanks for the encouragement through the whole thing.

        • I would have hung up on the conference call and followed you right in for pancakes!

    • Great work today!! Thanks for coming in to play!
      🙂

    • Come back any time!! (Or … come back EVERY time!) We’d love to have you!

  12. Growlery wod at 5. Note to self: if the weight feels freakishly light then you are adding wrong again!! Did the hang power cleans with 59# and look forward to doing it again with lots more weight in the future. For the amrap, I was able to finish the 5 rounds going 39 seconds over the 20 min. Big news was that I surprised myself by getting my toes to the bar in round 2! Got them up there quite a few times!

  13. 36:35 at 110#

    got squirly on my squat count doing sets of 10 for the first several rounds but Damon did the math and straightened me out, which frankly doing sets of 5 towards the end this whole thing possible, as I was so glad to have front loaded some squats.

  14. Growlery
    I used 87 for the cleans but like the others, should have used more because it seemed more like practice than hard work….

    5 rounds in 14:41 rx
    lateral burpees definitely TIRING! jumping is not really my thing…T2B were all unbroken but need to do them faster…

  15. I agree with Jen–this one was a lot easier with all the mods. Used the blue band for CTB pullups and probably should have used less. HSPUs on the box, and I will be working on a handstand so I can move on. Squats at 55#.

    Time: 35:13


Leave a Reply

