Friday, October 15, 2010

Three rounds for time of:
135 pound Hang power cleans, 15 reps
15 Burpees

Chris Spealler 2:48, Austin Malleolo 3:04, Rich Froning Jr. 3:10, Jason Khalipa 3:19, Tim Burke 3:31, Stacie Kroon 3:32 (95lbs), Miranda Oldroyd 3:53 (95lbs), Mary Lampas 4:02 (95lbs), Heather Bergeron 4:23 (95lbs).
Post time to comments.

Compare to 100423.



Mark’s Daily Apple answers the question,
“Is Rice Unhealthy?”

rice

The cereal grain family prides itself on its powerful, expansive arsenal of lectins, phytates, gluten, and other antinutrients. A single seed of its patriarch, wheat, can punch holes in gut linings with ease, and cousin oat has managed to obtain official recognition as being good for the heart even as it doses you with gluten. As healthy whole grains, they hide their armaments in plain sight; they cloak their puny bodies in the very poisons for which they are lauded and applauded. We Primals have got a heated feud going with the family as a whole, but should we paint all its members with the same brush? [keep reading]

Published in: on October 14, 2010 at 8:44 pm  Comments (29)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/friday-october-15-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

29 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Used 110# for HPCs
    5:45

    Round 1: HPCs unbroken
    Round 2: 8/7
    Round 3: 8/4/3

    PR by 2:50 compared to April 23, 2010 (with same weight)

    • Nice PR, Aaron!

  2. Used 77# for HPC
    8:55 PR

    I used the same weight back in April and it took me 18:01… I’m shocked I did it this much faster. Am really glad I didn’t remember doing this/know my previous time, or I’m sure I would have rested more. That, and as Laura said, I had “rabbits” to chase (Zeke and Eric… good lord they were fast!).

    • Wow! That’s amazing improvement!

  3. Great wod this morning. It was even better having Eric & Maze. As rX- 4:48. My time was 0:29 faster than the last time.

    Thank u Laura for the gas analogy. My tank was empty. And I am still coughing (& I worded at 6am). This one gives u FRAN lungs if done to full potential. Yuck!

    • You killed it… nice work!

      • Great Job Zeke and Jen! Hopfully I’ll make it in this PM to try this one. I’m officially off call as of Monday so should be back in the 5:30 fold:-)

        • Got it done.
          9:18 RX (PR from 12:43).
          Now with Fran lungs!

  4. HPCs at 65#. Time: 8:53

    My arms are still shaky. 🙂

  5. 37:36

    Five rounds for time of:

    40 Double-unders
    30 Box jumps, 24 inch box
    20 Kettlebell swings, 1.5 pood

    Did a 32 inch box instead. Probably should have just used a 24 inch box to make it faster. Either way, I beat my time from last time. Last time was 42 minutes.

    • Oops that was yesterday.

  6. Noon Growlery

    Split jerk: 54, 64, 71, 71, 71

    Swinging Mary with pike push ups, deep air squats, and 25# KB swings: 8 rounds + 5 pikes, 10 squats, and 5 swings.

  7. Growlery

    Split Jerks 5×1 with 90 sec rest btwn sets
    Disappointed with my split jerk today. Most I got was 120, and my PR from March is 140. Turns out I didn’t really understand the split jerk and was sending the back leg back rather than focusing on sending the front leg and hips forward and under the bar. I tried to correct that today, so I think the focus on form correction had some impact on why I couldn’t do more today.
    88-98-110-120-130F

    “Swinging Mary”
    Subbed pike pushups for HSPU.
    Pistols to seated position on ~18″ box. I could actually do these…last time I had to sub deep air squats for the pistols.
    10 rounds + 5 pike pushups + 2 pistols

    In other news, I can now do the swan dives without assistance. Crazy I know, but I had trouble with these due to pain, weakness, and inflexibility in my right hip — which I never knew was an issue until I started doing the swan dives. (Swan dives are the 1-legged toe touches we do in warmup.) I could do these on my left leg, but have not been able to do them on my right leg without holding onto something. Until this week that is. Now I can do them. It’s a little thing, but it’s huge to me. I know this improvement will translate to lots of others things. I’m sure it’s part of the reason I could do the modified pistols today when I’ve never been able to do them in the past.

    • Great about the swan dives (and I’m glad to know that’s what they’re called)!

    • Congratulations!!

  8. This looks like it’d be fun, but I’m pretty sure that I’d need use of my legs for it, and those aren’t functioning right now.

  9. SO PISSED at this WOD! So much so, that I’m still debating on repeating it or not. First round was about 1:15, :20 for 15 unbroken cleans. During the 3 round of HPC my stomach started getting sick and I had to walk through my last set of burpees fearing an accident….took over 2 mins to finish the last 15 burpees, and wasn’t even winded when I finished. Still PRd, but didn’t hit my 6 and change goal 😦

    As Rx 7:43 (35 sec PR)

    *Note to self, GO TO THE DAMN BATHROOM BEFORE THE WOD!!!

    • Yikes! I wondered what was going on over there. Heard a lot of angry yelling …

    • I love this story.

  10. Growlery

    Got up to 99 lb on the jerks (the last one I pressed out though)

    On the Swinging Mary, I used red/old red for HSPU, the rest was rx.
    9 rounds + 3 HSPU

    Was really happy with the HSPU. Last time, I used the same bands but had a harder time with the HSPU, this time, they were all unbroken except the last set AND I hit my head to the floor every single time!

  11. Today’s WOD:

    9:09 at 85#
    last group was sets of 5 on HPC
    Burpees unbroken

    • 06DEC- as RX @ 8:02

      PR!

      • I guess…”RX” for females…does that count? 95#

  12. 88 lbs @ 9:24

  13. Growlery at 5 by myself (except nice to have Meeks doing split jerks with me!)
    Wish I had had more time to practice split jerks and I even came in early but got hung up on the DUs for warm up. My vocalizations on the kb swings were more like a growl but technically this was a snarl.
    Split jerks: 54/66/88f/76f/76PR (I could only find a 54 split jerk in past records so I think that’s a pretty good pr today)
    Then 20 min AMRAP:
    5 HSPUs w/blue & green band
    10 alternating pistols from 13″ box
    15 kb swings w/ 35#
    7 rounds plus 5 HSPUs

  14. Lost my time card on this one. I think it was somewhere around 8 and a half(?) — a PR for me but I felt like I should have done better. Thought I did pretty well for the first round but got totally winded and overheated by midway through. Felt sick and weak and exhausted. My stamina sucks lately. Need to get back on my supplements, I think.

    • Oh yeah — HPCs @ 110 lbs.

  15. 8:50 something

    • at 110#


Leave a Reply

