Monday, October 4, 2010

For time:
95 pound Back squat, 50 reps
15 ft Rope Climb, 5 ascents
115 pound Back squat, 40 reps
15 ft Rope Climb, 4 ascents
135 pound Back squat, 30 reps
15 ft Rope Climb, 3 ascents
155 pound Back squat, 20 reps
15 ft Rope Climb, 2 ascents
175 pound Back squat, 10 reps
15 ft Rope Climb, 1 ascent

Post time to comments.



Third place in my weight class! Things felt weird out here…food poisoning, altitude, strange bars and nerves all took their toll, but I didn’t give up and tried to represent CrossFit Rx as best I could! Thank you all for your encouragement and support – this is a win for the gym, not just for me :mrgreen:

-Laura

Published in: on October 3, 2010 at 8:45 pm  Comments (32)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/10/03/monday-october-4-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

32 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am really impressed. if I had gotten food poisoning I would still be in bed. Congratulations Laura!

    • Congratulations, Laura!! 😀

  2. wooohooo!!

  3. Congrats! Bring it on home.

  4. Congrats LD! Now, I sit and wait until you guys wake up, so I know what kind of weight I can do for this WOD.

    • The ladies weight is 70% of the weight listed, so just multiple each weight by 0.7 to get the women’s weight.

  5. Great job! Congrats!

  6. Nice work, Laura!

  7. REPOST:

    Hey folks!

    As you know, several of us have recently discovered Dinner A’Fare. Thanks Erica! It’s a studio kitchen that let’s you assemble your own meals, or you can order the meals for pick up or delivery. They have great paleo-ish options.
    http://www.dinnerafare.com/locations_info.cfm?locid=357186

    As many of you also know, I am doing what I can to support Jax with “Lizzie.”

    Well, the Northlake Dinner A’Fare location has agreed to work with us over the next few months as we take on Lizzie. The owner is a fellow parent at my kids’ school and a fellow Crossfitter. To start, if you order from the Northlake location between October 5 and October 14, they will donate $10-$20 per order to “Lizzie” (depends on which package you select). Just put LIZZIE in the Special Instructions Box when you place the order. They will deliver the orders to a central location (the gym?) on October 15. Or, if you choose to have your meals delivered to your home there is a $10 delivery charge per order. BUT their overall prices are cheaper than other Dinner A’Fare locations so even after paying delivery you’ll still save between $5 and $10. If you’re not home you can leave a cooler on the porch and they’ll leave it for you. You can also pick up the meals, or do-it-yourself at the Northlake kitchen.

    **Tell your friends and family too!**

    For whoever wants to order after that time frame, we can pick a once a month delivery date and they will deliver to our homes (for anyone who is not located reasonably close to the gym they will talk to you about individual arrangements). They offer incentives to regular customers including free meals once-a-month. And I am working with them to determine the best ways for them to support Lizzie going-forward.

    Last, what may be of importance to some is that this location is particularly responsive to specific dietary needs. Among other things they have an array of gluten free ingredients and they accommodate vegetarian diets.

    Are you in? LIZZIE 3…2…1…Go!

  8. We’re doing another nutrition challenge starting next Monday, October 11. This one will run for 6 weeks (10/11 thru 11/21) and will take us right up to Thanksgiving. If you are interested in participating, join us over on Facebook for goal sharing and daily check-ins.

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Nutrition-Challenge/145727348773594?ref=ts

  9. Way to go Laura!! A win indeed…That’s awsome!!

  10. Did anyone do the WOD this morning? It looks like I’ll be there all night getting through this one! Am I doing this alone tonight? If so, can I get some cheerleaders? 🙂

    • I’m planning to come for Growlery at 5 so I’ll try to do some cheering for you, Dallas! 🙂

      Congrats to Laura!!

  11. Did today’s HQ wod. Took me 23:53 (or something relatively close to that). The back squats get tiring but not too bad.

    Congrats Laura!! Way to represent.

    • Great. That means it will take me at least 47min or 3 times your time as usual. 🙂

  12. Growlery at noon

    Max clean and jerk – 100 lb PR!

    10 min AMRAP
    6 squat cleans – 65 lb
    12 pullups
    24 double unders

    5 rounds + 4 squat cleans

    • Nice PR PRofessor Poole!

    • Fantastic, Therese!

  13. Growlery:

    Started the clean & jerk with 44# and finished with 66#. Next time I’ll start heavier. Need more confidence with lifts. (I may have to fake it.)

    Did the triplet Laura did in competition, only much less so. 😉 Used 44# and red band. Couldn’t get into a groove during double unders or pull ups. Not groovy. Total score = 151

    • p.s. That was 2 rounds and 1 squat clean.

  14. I wanted to do today’s WOD, but my stupid knee has been killing me and yesterday’s run (sorry, no clock, no row, just the dog) did not help. Not sure about 150 front squats. I may try to make it in for an alternate this evening or start fresh tomorrow.

  15. Growlery

    10 minutes to find max clean and jerk:
    131 – that’s a PR by 1 tiny pound
    I was able to clean 141 (that’s a PR by 7) but couldn’t get it overhead.
    I need to get move comfortable catching the heavy cleans in a squat. And I need to get more comfortable with the split jerk. I did all push jerk today – Damon suggested split jerk, but once the weight was heavy I couldn’t make the switch.

    10 Minute AMRAP:
    6 squat cleans
    12 pullups (blue)
    24 double-unders

    RX weight was 75#. I did 65#; should have done 75 because I can.

    3 rounds + 6 squat cleans

  16. Did today’s WOD- loved it.

    50 reps – 65#
    5 ascents
    40 reps – 85#
    4 ascents
    30 reps – 105#
    3 ascents
    20 reps – 125#
    2 ascents
    10 reps – 145#
    1 ascent

    Issue with the stopwatch- darn Air Force losers were in my way. But at least I know that I could put up more weight, the 10 at 145# were unbroken.
    The Air Force guy said he is a certified trainer and that I should climb the rope with only upper body. I said I disagree and think that the legs could/should be used in this WOD especially. Any input Damon/Laura?

    • Damon told me yesterday that the rope climb is MOSTLY legs.

      • Thanks Rooth! That’s what I thought…I was skeptical about him anyway when he pronounced Tabata wrong.

  17. Work got in the way of 5:30 today so I did a combo of Jerry and today’s on my own. Ran 1 mile, air squat in #’s above broken up with 15 push-ups then ran 1 mile.

  18. Holy crap! Kudo’s to those who didn’t do this one today…a lot more metcon than I expected.

    Did 80% weight and RX on all the rope climbs. Remind me to tape my leg or wear one long sock next time.

    31:23, may have been 31:32…have to check tomorrow.

    • Good going, Dallas! Sorry I wasn’t there to be your cheerleader, but it looks like you did fine.

      • Thanks Joy!! I never make it before 6-6:30 because of my commute from work, but I’m glad I can get my workout in with the accomodating schedule.

    • Great job Dallas. Excellent time!!

  19. I did the Growlery modified. Worked on back squats 3×3. 70#x3, 75#x3, 77#x3. For the 10 min AMRAP, I used 44# for squat cleans and black band for pull ups. Was going to do 8 double unders plus 16 singles for each round. But then I struggled too much on double unders. Finished 3 rounds of squat cleans and pull ups and then the double unders and singles were something like 6 DU/20 singles, 2/24, 4/20. I obviously need to practice my DUs.

  20. Did this with RX weights. First time doing rope climbs in a workout and managed to get first 13, but then went to modified. As Dallas said, next time wear long socks and I think I can do more. My legs were tore up, which made me stop. My time was 41:something. First time back in 10 days and of course this was a leg workout. Never fails.

    And congrats Laura – you always represent us well.


Leave a Reply

