Wednesday, August 25, 2010

“Test 3”

Tabata Squat
Max reps of Muscle-ups in 4 minutes

The Tabata interval is 20 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest for 8 intervals. Tabata score is the least number of reps performed in any of the eight intervals. Begin time for muscle-ups immediately after the last 10 second rest interval. Test score equals Tabata score multiplied by number of muscle-ups completed.

Graham Holmberg 616 (22 x 28), Kristan Clever 575 (25 x 23), James Hobart 528 (22 x 24), Greg Amundson 525 (21 x 25), Heather Bergeron 368 (23 x 16). Post score to comments.



Published in: on August 24, 2010 at 9:16 pm  Comments (19)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/08/24/wednesday-august-25-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, that is a really cool picture. TPoole rocks.

    • Wow is right! Awesome, awesome pic.

  2. For those that have Muscle Ups, this WOD will be available. Otherwise, I will have an alternate workout for you all to do.

  3. Alt WOD:
    4 min Tabata burpee + 4 min max rep clean & jerk @ 95 lbs:
    46 + 22
    68 Total (Rx)

    • Thank you Damon – My legs are fried and was thinking about skipping today with tabata squats. Who knew I would want Tabata Burpees.

      Mike you must have been flying through those Burpees

      • No problem Bryan…I missed the lunges, but the squats, jumping and dead lifts have taken a toll on my ass and legs as well. I love this combo, because the burpees pre-fatigue your C&J muscles and make the (95/65) feel a little….let’s call it…different 😉

  4. Noon Growlery:

    For future reference, my DL max from CF Total on July 24, 2010 = 164, so 85% would have been 139.

    Based today’s lifts on 155 by mistake. Oops. 120 x 3 | 125 x 3 | 125 x 3

    Did 2 rounds of Task Priority FGB with 45# for SDHP and PP, step on 20″ box. 10# WB.

    25:58 (first round = 11:05)

    Argh.

    • I thought those deads looked a bit easy for you!

  5. Growlery:

    Deadlift 3×3 at 85%, 90 sec rest btwn sets:
    209×3, 219×3, 225×3
    The goal was to do 3 sets at 85%, but 209 felt heavy so I started there and then added weight for each set. I probably just needed more time to warmup because I did 225 just fine on the 3rd lift. I’m still adjusting to the quick pace of the Growlery. Apparently, there is nothing quick about me.

    2 Rounds of Task Priority FGB:
    20 Wallballs, 14#
    20 SDHP, 55#
    20 Box jumps, 20″ (subbed 40 step-ups)
    20 Push Press, 55#
    20 Row for Calories
    1 minute rest between rounds.

    Total Time for 2 rounds including rest: 18:32
    R1: 8:14
    R2: 9:18

    My FGB PR is 217 with box jumps. Subbed step-ups today because of unhappy knee and the 20-rep count which is high for me on box jumps. I think if we do this again, it would be good for me to try this at 15 reps for each exercise and do all 3 rounds. But who knows? By the time we do it again, I may have transformed into someone else.

    Here’s a bright spot…I got the first round of 20 wallballs unbroken. I knew I could do this because of the workout we did last week with 25 UB wallballs.

    • You are a machine!

  6. Did the sub this morning: burpees and clean-and-jerks at 55#. Burpees 43, clean-and-jerks 23, total 66.

    • Go Paige! : )

      • Thanks Mike. 🙂

  7. Noon Growlery
    3X3 DL I did 170 lbs for all sets

    Did 2 rounds of Task Priority FGB
    18:01

    (first round was 7:48)

    I was COMPLETELY winded during this…I think part of it was that I rarely get 20 reps of anything in FGB + pretty much all of these are goats for me + air conditioning was out and I don’t do well in humidity (breathing-wise). Sorry for the bitching…I really would like to do this again with the full three rounds.

    • I would like to do it again with ONE round. 😉

  8. Tabata Squats: 17-18-18-17-17-18-18-18
    4 min muscle-ups: 3
    Total: 17*3=51

    + 2 muscle-ups in warm-up and 3 after the workout for a total of 8 muscle-ups (a new one-day pr)

    • Nice work!

  9. Way to go, everybody! Love the rope climbin’!
    I didn’t make it in today. Squats just seemed mean & I’m still having arm problems. I may come in tomorrow morning and we’ll discuss what I can do, coach.

  10. Alt WOD

    42 Tabata Burpees +

    (4 minutes) 10 C&J at 76 lbs (3), then 66 lbs (7)

    Total = 52


Leave a Reply

