Friday, August 13, 2010

Annie

50-40-30-20 and 10 rep rounds of:
Double-unders
Sit-ups

Kim Malz 5:00, Dave Castro 8:00 (GHD). Post time to comments.

Compare toΒ 100518.


WOD Demo with Dave Castro with GHD sit-ups – video [wmv] [mov]


From the Vault: Chris Spealler WOD Demo – video [wmv] [mov]



Published in: on August 12, 2010 at 8:03 pm  Comments (45)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/08/12/friday-august-13-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

45 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. amazing picture!!!

    • I agree! And Kelly killed that wod!

    • Cool photo!

      Annie is my favorite workout! I’ll be doing the Growlery, though. I wonder if I could manage both — Growlery at noon and Annie after work.

      • Made up Annie on 8/15, Growlery rest day. 13:20, which is 1 minute over my PR.

        Two things that slowed me down: not being able to do the double unders unbroken and my shoe coming untied.

        Goals for next time: unbroken double unders | double-knot laces!! πŸ™‚

    • agreed… fantastic picture. I watched him doing this around 1PM today (I think) – funny how the lighting is so cool that looks like evening!

    • Very cool picture, indeed. Way to work, Kelly.

    • Great pic Kelly…you look like a machine! Eat your Wheaties because I’m looking forward to WOD with you on Sunday @ 10 am πŸ™‚

      • welcome back L πŸ™‚

    • Great subject + great artist = AMAZING photo!

  2. Awesome photo.
    This was my second Annie on a box.
    12:30 PR (last time was 13:53)
    Laura’s advice on DUs– practice. But when you have such a long list of things to practice…

    • Move DUs to the top of the list. They’re FUN!

  3. Growlery:

    10-minute Handstand/HS-walk practice. I practiced double-unders, 24″ step-ups, and a few dips. (Still having problems with my back and the handstand aggravated it so I worked on other stuff.)

    1a: Pullups 5×5 with blue+tiny
    1b: Strict Press 5×5: 65,70,75,80,85×3
    (Alternate btwn 1a and 1b with 60 seconds rest between each set).

    Run 1-mile. Well, Erica and I missed a turn so we don’t know how far we ran. In the middle of trying to get back on course, I had to make an emergency bathroom stop. I’ll chalk today up to “just running without worrying about time”.

  4. Did Growlery with Pat -she was nice enough to wait for me since i overslept!

    10 min Handstand practice. I definitely made progress and enjoyed practicing this. Thanks for the help Laura!

    1a: weighted Pull-ups 5×5 1st rd w/20# vest, rest w/ 27# vest
    1b: strict press 5×5 66, 71, 76, 81, 86×3

    See above for run fiasco. The missed turn was totally my fault.

  5. Kelly, would you just do me a favor and eat a box of donuts or something so the rest of us can feel good about ourselves for a while? Sheesh…

    Annie in 8:46 — slower than last time by almost a minute. Laura corrected my sit-up form which, of course, made it harder (and slower).

    • Ha, now that was funny! Donuts and a couple of “Ghetto Burgers” too…

      • Mmmm… ghetto burgers…

        • Oh man, I haven’t been to Ms. Ann’s in a while. Mmmm…

          • Damn, am I the only human in Atlanta that has never gone??

          • Nope, I haven’t been either.

          • Vinocity (now Kirkwood Public House) has a variation of that… but I’ve never had it. I wouldn’t be surprised if they create special CrossFit Burger soon, a few of us eat there enough!

      • ok, i’m snagging a ghetto burger saturday afternoon. period. connor & I have jujitsu til noon then i’m headed to ms. ann’s snack bar on Memorial. gonna be there by 1 no matter what–would be super cool to rendez-vous with some crossfitters. jus’ saying πŸ˜‰

    • LOL!!! The Ghetto Burger is out of Biz I hear

  6. “Annie”: 13:22
    Last time was 17:12.

    It was actually fun to be in at 6:30 am! Maybe I’ll try it again sometime…

    • Solution to your time crunch…Love it!
      Congrats on the PR too πŸ˜‰

    • Huge PR, Paige! Wow.

    • Paige, I beat your Annie time by 2 seconds. Ha!!

  7. Noon Growlery:

    This was a fun one! It was a little of this and a little of that, so nothing was too painful.

    5 rounds of 5 pull ups – unbroken! – with red band.
    My heaviest weight on presses x 5 was 47#. (Managed 55# x 2.)
    Ran a mile in 11:33. (All running, no walking!)

    Sweet.

    • Nice running, Terri, especially in this heat!

  8. Power Hour Growlery. Enjoyed it ladies!

    10-minute handstand practice.
    1a: Pullups 5Γ—5 with 14.8# vest
    1b: Strict Press 5Γ—5: 65,68,72,78 (this is when LD says, “too light!! you need to make a jump!),87Γ—5
    Run 1-mile: 11:34 (thinking I turned too early off of McClendon –turns out I didn’t– I added to the run, so about 1.2 miles)

  9. Noon Growlery grrrrrr!

    10 min handstand practice.
    1a. pullups first 3 sets of 5 with 12.5 lbs and last two sets of five with 20.5
    1b. press 44, 49, 59X4, 59, 59
    Ran 1 mile…my timer didn’t start so I have no idea how long it took : (

  10. Sorry to miss Annie. Hotel gym in suburban Philly is a bit tight (e.g the only space to do a burpee would be on the treadmill) so did an in-room WOD instead.

    2x
    50 push-ups
    50 squats
    5 HSPU (to a rolled up towel)
    ~18 min

    My push-ups are slow and I failed on lots of HSPUs. Need to work on the timing of my kipping.

    • Good for you to workout when you are in a hotel!!

  11. Noon Growlery
    10 min handstand practice
    5×5 Weighted Pullups, 12.5#, ouch
    5×5 Shoulder Press, 66,76,76×3,71,71 (75%1RM)
    1 mile run, 8:28 (got lost, ran 1.1mi
    Great programming.

    • Well, that helps me, I started after you (not sure how long though) and finished right before you so maybe i was around 7:30-8:00??

      • You are FAST! So glad that others (not you) got lost on the run so I didn’t feel like a complete nimrod.

  12. 14:53

  13. 17:06
    box jumps

  14. Last time- 14:25
    This time- 12:16

  15. making some veggie-stuffed london broil right now, drowning my memory of a lengthy Annie in red meat with mustard/cumin/pepper rub

    last annie with ab-mat 5:42 back in May…this time, with GHDs 13 and change…ugh :-/ but did have a TON of fun practicing handstands afterwards with some Growlers & climbing @ wallcrawlers…TGIF

    • Veggie-stuffed london broil. OMG.

      • …mmm, it was good too!
        just 1. butterfly the meat (rubbed with cumin, pepper, dry mustard, olive oil), 2. spread on a bunch of chopped garlic, redonion, spinach, tomato, whatever 3. roll it up & toothpick/twine the fatty 4. & toss it in the oven (on broil) for 10 min per side (maybe covered with chopped yellow squash on sale at kroger)
        πŸ˜‰

  16. Growlery…

    10 min handstand and handstand walk practice – thanks to tips from Laura and Michael I was able to start stringing together steps

    5×5 SP: 60-65-70-75-80×4

    5×5 weighted PUs: 22-26-31-35.6-42.8

    1 mile run: 6:57

    I enjoyed today’s mix.

    • Trish, that is such fantastic work! Very fast AND strong. Those are great numbers all around. You’re the real deal! Of course, I suspected as much. πŸ™‚

  17. 13:42

    3 min pr. I attribute that to the double under improvement. Unanchored abmat felt really slow in comparison to the double unders which is a change.

  18. 8/16: Made up Annie because I needed to practice DUs for the garage games. Damon worked with me yesterday and it really helped.

    9:04 (1:24 PR!) w/anchored abmat situps. I realized this morning that when I start to miss a lot that I need to relax, slow down, and not hunch forward (thanks Zeke). I miss more when I’m trying to go fast.


Leave a Reply

