Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Complete as many rounds in 12 minutes as you can of:
185 pound Front squat, 5 reps
10 Chest to bar Pull-ups
20 Double-unders

Mike Burke 8.0 rounds. Post rounds and fractions of rounds to comments.

Mark’s Daily Apple is one of our favorite resources for all things Primal (Paleo-type eating, CrossFit-style workouts, etc.) Recently, there were a few articles about joint mobility/stability that I thought were worth posting here:

“The Importance of Shoulder Mobility and Scapular Stability”

“How to Maintain Shoulder Mobility and Scapular Stability”

There are also great articles about keeping the hips, thoracic spine and ankles and wrists healthy. Check ’em out!

Published in: on June 8, 2010 at 9:02 pm  Comments (35)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/wednesday-june-9-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

35 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ladies should shoot for 125 pounds for the front squats.

  2. yay, more weight squats, more chest to bar pull-ups, more double unders.

    • Yes “yay”…..

  3. ha! Coincidentally, I pulled up CFRX and the MDA links immediately after posting a whine on FB about my hurty shoulders. Guess I will go study up…

    • I just saw that…. 😉

  4. I’m missing this week’s WODs but I’m going to use the time to do the 7-day shoulder rehab. Thanks for posting.

  5. Front squats 49#
    CTB red& tiny
    Box hops
    4 rounds + 1 FS

  6. Good plan.

  7. That comment was intended for Mike regarding his shoulder rehab.

  8. 125# front squat
    green band for CTB pullups

    2 rounds + 5 FS + *12* pullups + 19 du’s

    **for some reason, I did 12 pullups per round instead of 10.

    du’s slowed me way down and left me very winded going into the front squats. I need to continue to practice du’s. First round of FS unbroken. R2 and R3 were broken 2/2/1 and 3/2.

    • I hereby declare that you get to call this 3 rounds.

      • 🙂

      • I second that motion….

    • Just realized that I also did 25 DU’s on each round. Boy was I having a brain-fade on this day. So I would easily have done 3+ rounds since the du’s were what took me so long. I did a total of 10 extra du’s and 6 extra pullups in this workout.

  9. My first Wednesday morning WOD in many, many months. Thanks Mac!
    I suspect rolling out of bed and hitting a workout is not optimal for my performance.

    4 Rounds + 2 Front Squats Rx

    1st set of FS were unbroken
    2nd set of FS I dropped the bar on 4 (literally)
    broke up remaining sets into 3/2, 2/3 and 2, I think

    CTB were harder at first but got easier with each set, go figure.

    DUs were just, well, DUs. Better than usual for me in a WOD, so those are improving slowly

  10. Used 145# for front squats.
    4 rounds + 5 FS + 10 C2B + 19 DUs

    Finished with 50 box jumps (24″): 2:28

  11. 43#, green band, double unders: 3 rounds + 5 + 10 + 18

    Compared to the nap I was planning to take, this is a HUGE pr. 😉

    • Proud of you, T!

    • 😀

  12. Did the wod RX. I completed 7 rounds and 3 front squats. Front squats were at 186lbs. Did first two sets unbroken, then did a 3/2 split. C2b pullups were 5/5 and all double unders were unbroken.

    Really enjoyed working out with Mac & Scott. It’s always more fun to have folks to chase!!

    • Mind blowing!

    • Amazing!

    • chase? ha. we were chasing you, and not even close on this one!

  13. Laura has destroyed me for the second day in a row but will be back for more tomorrow! I haven’t felt this kind of buzz since my first month of CF over 2 years ago. Looking forward to meeting more of you.

    • yay! welcome!

    • Hope to see you if you’re in at noon tomorrow.

  14. Hit the globo gym in memphis today. Needless to say, I am anxious to back in my home gym. I want to make up today’s wod – looks like a good one. Damon and Laura, I am going to bring my boss in with me tomorrow at 4. He is traveling with $e this week. Is that okay?

  15. 55# front squat, red+tiny bands

    3 rounds + 5 + 10 +10

  16. 12 min AMRAP
    5 88 lb frontsquat (should have done more weight, all were unbroken)
    10 C2B pullups
    20 DU

    4 rounds + 5 FS + 7 C2B

    Woot! Happy that the C2B are coming back…they were WAY slow…but I’ll take it.

    Glad for no squats tomorrow, my legs are SORE!

  17. That was really hard!

    103# for the first 6, 98# thereafter; red band

    3 rounds + 5 + 10 + 10

  18. 3 rounds even, sort of. I ended up doing 4 squats on round 3 since I was frustrated, but ended up with an extra one at the end.

  19. Made this up this morning.

    80 lbs, new red band for pullups

    3 rounds + 5 + 10 + 7 DUs

    I really wanted to get 4 rounds so I finished the last one, but not on the clock. Need to work on C to B pullups, I think they were weak.

  20. 142# Front Squats
    Blue band for C2B
    Sub box jumps
    3 rds + 5 front squats

  21. Made this up on Thursday. Rx. 125# FS

    4rds + 5 FS + 10 CTBs.
    FS unbroken; CTB mostly singles after round one; DUs unbroken rds 1,2,4. Very broken round 3.

    Rested a lot on CTBs, but can’t say it was too much ’cause when I didn’t rest a lot I’d miss and have to re-do.

  22. 3 rnds + 5 + 10 + 14

    110# FS; had a difficult time with the DUs – they ate up too much time


Leave a Reply

