Tuesday, May 4, 2010

“Barbara”

Five rounds, each for time of:
20 Pull-ups
30 Push-ups
40 Sit-ups
50 Squats

Rest precisely three minutes between each round.

Post times to comments.

Compare toΒ 100102.

Published in: on May 3, 2010 at 9:25 pm  Comments (40)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/tuesday-may-4-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

40 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, hard wod!

  2. DA POWA HOWA!!!

    • I may not make the ‘Powa Howa’ today, but this evening for sure…

  3. In January I used green band on “Barbara” and today I used new red and was almost 15 minutes faster. My slowest round today was faster than 4 of my January rounds.
    7:52 – 8:29 – 9:19 – 9:49 – 9:37

    • Total time = 45:06

      Here’s a nifty time calculator: http://www.csgnetwork.com/timeconv.html

      • nice

    • Wow, Joy! That is some impressive progress!

    • Nice, Joy!!!!

    • Thanks, guys! πŸ™‚

  4. darn I wish I could come power hour… I have a final at 2:45 I have to study for. 😦 πŸ˜₯

    • that’s some good dedication–good luck on the test! I’m sure Barbara will take a rain-check πŸ˜‰

  5. 4:05/4:18/4:48/4:59/5:04 = 23:14 (PR by 2:26)

    Really tried to keep all rounds under 5 minutes but didn’t quite do it. But I am happy with my progress. I used to average 6+ minutes per round.

    First round of pull-ups were unbroken, then 15/5, 12/5/3, 12/4/4. Push-ups were the hardest. Very little rest on sit-ups and squats, but took them slow and steady.

    Mike and Pat, I miss you!!

    • I can’t seem to get it together these days. I’m planning to go to the noon session today.

  6. I made up Sunday’s Snatch workout during the Power Hour.

    65# snatch
    CTB pullups with blue+tiny

    19:23

  7. Knew if I didn’t come to Power Hour I wouldn’t come today at all. Now I’m back at work, stinky but happy. πŸ˜€

    Did 3 rounds: 8:39, 11:24, 10:19 | red band, knee push ups

    • p.s. On the board I wrote “10:84” instead of 11:24. English major. Sorry.

    • That’s fantastic you did a lunchtime workout, ‘stinky’ T! Way to go!

    • …and all of Stinky-T’s work was 100%…case in point, when “someone” offered her a target for her push-ups that was too high, she didn’t hesitate to say “I can lower than that!” (without even a pause between reps)…Great job to day! πŸ™‚

      • I heard that and was impressed…

  8. I have my times at home…rounds started at 6:51 and went up to 8:29 or something. The problem, I assure you, was the pushups. Total 38 minutes.

  9. Just to recap: SOLID work all around at today’s Power Hour! Everyone did a nice job of getting through their warm-ups with little delay and THEN fought through a couple of tough WODs with zero “editorial commentary” (whining)…even Therese who had only 1 arm to work with πŸ™‚
    Missed some of you regulars though…watch out, we had several folks PR today &/or do Barb for the first time without bands, so better get back in here & Witness the Fitness!!

  10. “Witness the Fitness”!! I like that very much…that’s our new power hour motto. I’m sure of it!
    Today we did the ol’ C&J ladder and I climbed one more rung up to 8+3. Then we did “Barbara” and I managed it in 15:43. The sit ups were the worst part, as they affected my pull-ups and squats. See you all tomorrow evening. And yes Terri, in case you were wondering….you still smell!

    • I smell like flowers! Or perhaps fertilizer.

    • …anyone want a sure way to get a new PR, just chase Kelly or Zeke through a workout (or two)…you probably won’t finish first, but you’ll go faster than ever before. i like to think of it as “drafting” πŸ™‚

      • story of my life… love it though- DRAFTING:)

  11. I’ve been waiting for Barbara for awhile…alas, it have to wait. Did 5 rounds
    400m run
    25 GHD situps
    25 back extensions
    18:44

  12. long workout but i’m glad i finished with no bands! so i guess this is my first RX workout (if you count using the abmat as a target on pushups)

    8:24, 9:04, 9:30, 9:43, 9:35

    • Awesome!

    • you did a Gr8 job hanging in there! that’s what the “power” in power hour is all about πŸ™‚

  13. Thanks Joy for posting that time calculator, it helped me realize that my prior Barbara time was wrong:)

    25:25 (PR by 2:15 from 9/2009)
    3:28/4:18/5:35/6:05/5:59
    Unbroken pullups until round 4, then 10/10; 10/5/5. Pushups were 20/10 and then 10/10/5/5 usually. Situps sucked, squats not an issue.

    Faster on every round b/t 5 and 25 seconds, but more than a minute faster on round 5, which I think says more than anything. I can go faster, and have 22 days to prove that πŸ˜‰

  14. Hey all! Today we did a modified version of barbara- sans pullups. We were in the field, litterally.
    Yesterday we learned 4 different chokeholds and I can successfully dislocate any joint in the human body or just simply break an arm. So…8 hours of combatives was a WOD in itself.=)

    • sweet, you need to teach me the choke-holds!

  15. 44:15 rx

    i was really happy just to get through this whole workout.

  16. 5:59, 6:35, 7:59, 8:15, 8:20

    Sit ups were probably my best segment, but I noticed the “damage” they did after my shower.

  17. Had a work meeting this evening and wasn’t able to make it in for Barbara…hoping to make it up this week though.

  18. made this up a day late… ate chicken nuggets and fries yesterday which prob didn’t help the cause.

    3:32, 5:05, 6:05, 6:49, 5:57 = 27:28

    damn sit ups every time, and the push-ups fell apart fast too, need to start being a little more serious on diet – but fear life without cappuccinos, lattes, and the like.

    • still a 3 minute pr, which feels good

  19. 3:43, 4:52, 5:40, 4:55, 4:23 = 23:33

  20. 3 rounds of Barbara on HQ rest day.

    5:09
    5:51
    7:15

    Really slowed down on that third round I guess. The pull ups rd 1 and 3 were unbroken, but the push ups and squats slow me down every time.

  21. […] Compare toΒ 100504. […]


Leave a Reply

