Wednesday, April 21, 2010

HQ Rest Day


Published in: on April 21, 2010 at 9:14 am  Comments (23)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/wednesday-april-21-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Decided to try one of the Regional Masters workouts:
    “Jumping Helen”
    3 rounds
    50 double unders
    21 KB swings 35 lbs
    12 pullups
    10:59

    The good part was that this is the first wod I did consecutive du (with no single jump in between).
    The bad part was underestimating the fatigue on my forearms…doing du instead of running took a toll on the KB swings and the pullups (my Helen time is over a minute faster than this…)

    • P.S. I love this pic, this is often the scene when I get there at 8 am (and it always freaks me out – lol)

  2. At TJ’s CF in San Rafael: (at 5:15 am – how’s that for dedication, Damon?)

    5 rounds
    400m run/8 95# thrusters/16 chest to bar pullups.

    Damon, this was downright cruel. I don’t think I’ve ever done a 95# thruster before. That s&%t was heavy. I was slacking a bit and resting too much and TJ totally called me out. And he didn’t count some of my pull-ups. He tried to keep me honest, but still I’d say only about 50% of my pull-ups were truly chest to bar. Just couldn’t get up there after the first half of each round.

    27:53

    I have to say though, I was pleased to not be doing their workout, which was 100 burpees for time and then Jackie.

    • That IS dedication.

    • I love it Erica, Gr8 job! I know this one was a tough one…but worry not, the others will have to do it soon too (just don’t tell them yet), LOL!
      Your next one is not that long and you should be able to SPRINT through it, let me know how it goes!
      Seriously though, thank you for going through with it…I really do appreciate it 🙂

      • I was hoping I could count last night’s workout for the other one because it contained 40 95# hang power cleans and 80 24″ box hops in 16 minutes. (see note from last night). The only things I have left are front squats and push press. Thought I’d do those and one more group workout before I leave

        • Just got it, very good work! How long will you be gone? If you are gonna be a few more days I can send you some more WODs.

          • I have tomorrow and Friday. Sat I travel all day

    • Whoa.

  3. Jonestown 2010: They’ve drunk the CrossFit Kool-Aid.

    • …you know what goes great with Kool-Aid? Paleo Margarita Cupcakes!! 🙂
      http://eatthecookie.wordpress.com/2010/04/02/margarita-cupcakes/

      • Mmmm… cupcakes! But where the hell does one get coconut flour???

        • Ha! that was my first question too! 🙂 (note the conspicuous absence of an answer…)

          • Actually, the Kroger at Edgewood has a selection of alternative flour (coconut, almond, etc). Just go wander in the organic / healthfood section.

          • Damn, those sound really good!
            I have actually found a lot of alternative ingredients at the Kroger on Moreland (just south of DeKalb) but I have never looked for coconut flour there…

  4. hahaha looks like nap time for the kindergarden class.

  5. Deadlifts 3-3-3-3-3
    145-155-165-175-180 PR of 12 lbs.

  6. kinda inspired by Erica’s post…no, no sprinting…

    2 min max rep Double-unders
    *rest 2 min*
    “Jackie”
    (sub’d 100 shin2chin SDHPs w/45# for the 1000m row)
    *rest 2 min*
    2 min max rep Double-unders

    112-6:48-81

    • does that mean you did DBL unders for 2 minutes straight without stopping?

      • …well, yes, if you ignore all of the tripping and standing on the rope-n-cursing-n-stuff 😉

      • how long r u out West?

        • until Saturday – looking forward to getting home!


Leave a Reply

