Thursday, April 15, 2010

McGhee

Complete as many rounds in 30 minutes as you can of:
275 pound Deadlift, 5 reps
13 Push-ups
9 Box jumps, 24 inch box

James Hobart 23 rounds, Eric Magee 22 rounds, Amy Ferro 15 rounds + 5 DL (187lbs). Post rounds and fractions of rounds completed to comments.

Corporal Ryan C. McGhee, 21, was killed in action on May 13, 2009 by small arms fire during combat in central Iraq. He served with 3rd Battalion, 75th Ranger Regiment of Fort Benning, Ga. This was his fourth deployment, his first to Iraq. Ryan was engaged to Ashleigh Mitchell of Fredericksburg, VA. He is survived by his father Steven McGhee of Myrtle Beach S.C., his mother Sherrie Battle McGhee, and his brother Zachary.

Published in: on April 14, 2010 at 10:14 pm  Comments (43)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/04/14/thursday-april-15-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

43 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What to use for your deadlift? Well, if you are a male who has a one-rep max of 405 pounds or more, go ahead and use the 275lb prescription. If you are a female who can deadlift 275 or more for a one-rep max, go ahead and use the 185lb prescription.

    If not, use 68% of your one-rep max deadlift weight for this workout. SO, if your max deadlift is 225 pounds, you would use 153 pounds for your version of this workout.

  2. Erica and Sting, I haven’t seen any of your Homework for this week!?!?!
    I’m just sayin….

    • I know! I know! I knew this week was going to be tough for me to come in. I had friends coming in from out of town on Thursday, a lecture/speaker at Spelman I wanted to see on Tuesday and today (Fri) my co-worker is having a birthday dinner at 7pm, so I won’t be able to come in. I’m sorry Damon! I will work on it!

  3. Message from Mike:
    “Too sore to workout, Coffee?”

    Shame on you Fella, Thou Shall NOT encourage truancy!!!

    • Doh!

    • Busted. : (

      • Sorry, Mike. I got your text as I was walking in the gym. It made me laugh so I showed it to Damon. Let’s do meet for coffee soon…or gin & tonics even sooner! 😉

        • or wine as soon as tonight. who’s up for jazz on the lawn in oakhurst tonight?

          • Or you all could meet for WATER at that cool new spot on DeKalb Ave. 1530B, I believe…I think they have a new Happy Hour Fridays 7am 😉

          • We might be there tonight!

          • Damon, you’re not gonna let me live this down are you?

        • Mmmmm, I’m thinking about it LOL!

  4. Used 15″ box since I ran out without my springy shoes and didn’t think I could make the 20″ this morning. Will get back to 20″ box soon, I swear. Deadlift was 120# I think.
    9 rounds + 5 DL + 8 PU

  5. Red box, DLs were 121 lbs.

    9 rds + 5 + 13 + 7

    Missed ten rounds by 2 lousy jumps!! Next time. 🙂

  6. DL were 164# (230# 1 rep max. First 6 rds unbroken then in 2 sets.

    20 inch box at first then graduated to 24 inch for the first time!!! Box jumps were slow but steady. Pushups slowed me down.

    8 rds + 3 DL.

    • Congrats on the 24″ box.

    • Yes! Gr8 job Meeks, way to make apPRopriate unPRovoked PRogress…feel good about it!

  7. 185# deadlift.
    20″ box
    pushups were all plank and pretty darn good I think, especially for a big girl. I got the first round unbroken. 13 straight. That’s a first. TWEE!

    8 rounds + 5 pushups

    I wanted to work faster but the deadlifts made my head spin in the later rounds, and the box jumps were messing with my head today…especially following those heavy deads.

    • Great work, Pat! 13 push ups unbroken!

  8. Damon had mercy on me and let me do this as a 20 minute amrap rather than 30, given that I was going to stay late to do my overdue homework.

    10 rds + 5 deadlifts + 15 pushups in 20 minutes
    159# deadlift (69% of 1 RM)-all unbroken

    First few rounds were rough but I got into a good groove. I can say for the first time that I didn’t despise the box jumps. 9 is a nice number.

    Then I did Hang Power Cleans, 5 sets of 3
    88/93/98/103/108×2

    • Just remember to raise your expectations, so completing lifts like these will be less surprising to you…good job with it.

      Jerks 7×1 tomorrow!
      I’m sure Laura will be more than happy to share some of her expertise…considering she’s the only CrossFit woman that I have ever seen that can Jerk 125% of her body weight 😉

  9. Well, back is still on the fritz. Had the good doctor see it yesterday and will go back on Monday. Will try to come in Friday if it feels ok, but I can’t lift anything. Maybe some power walking….air squats. Not allowed to do anything for time.

    Injuries suck!!!!

    • oh no!!!

      • I feel you, Z — injuries definitely do suck. Take care of it.

    • dude, hope you are feelin’ better soon!

  10. Fun Power Hour & must say gracias to Coach L for the gentle “kick” 2day 😉

    got a new 3rm front squat: 247 with much deeper ROM now that the ball is gone & a new PR on DU’s (38 + many sets of 20+) during the 10 min AMRAP (50 DU’s & 10 C2B pu’s: 5 rounds +26 DUs)…turns out not hitting the ground so much with the rope was a Real breakthrough 4 me!

    • I think I was the cause of the ‘kick’ 🙂 I was starting a 60%/70%/80%/90%/100% goal for each of the 5×3 front squats. My highest front squat was 185… anyway, the kick helped me too. My last set was 220lb. I KNOW I have a higher front squat in me.

      Jumping on the 37.5″ was fun – I still suck at double unders. I think part of the key is in the rope.

  11. @155DL = 15 rds (5DL + 13PU + 1 Box jump)

    I liked this one! I am working on not worrying about if it’s gonna hurt and just doing it. You may often see me talking to myself during the workouts because in my head I am saying strange things like: “this is going to hurt”, “how many people per day touch this bar”, “I wonder if people can see my underwear”, “I think my stomach is showing”, “what if my hands slip and i hit my head on a box”…. seriously a million things go on in my head while I’m doing a WOD. So, basically, I spend half of my time talking to myself instead of just doing the work.

    My goal, since I have only 9 weeks left before I leave is to shut up and work. And today was my first shot. =) I didn’t stop as many times as I usually do, so that is good…one day at a time!

    • Ha! 😀 I have those same thoughts! Except for the one about people touching the bar. That’s a new one. (I’ll add it to my list.)

    • Awesome!! More than 15 rounds!! 155lbs!! In spite of negative self talk?!

    • Yeah, that is really awesome!

    • Awesome work!

      And soooo funny. You have articulated so much of what runs through my mind through all workouts.

  12. 110# and did broad jumps instead of box jumps because my brain is sprained. 9 rounds + 5 + 13

  13. 5 99# DL
    13 Push-ups (first time not doing them from my knees during a workout)
    9 24″ box jumps

    =8 Rounds + 5 + 11

    • Go, Sarah, with the plank push ups and 24″ box!

  14. 10 rounds even, RX.

  15. Great to see so much good work going on!

    At noon did some strength work
    Push Press 1-1-1-1-1
    66-76-81-88-92
    Hang clean practice – 3-3-3
    66-66-66

    Then in the afternon, did “McGhee”
    121 DL (working on good form)
    14 rounds + 5DL + 13 PU + 1 BJ

    30 minutes is LONG time!

    • 14 rounds is a lot!

  16. 11 rounds even at 215lbs in my dirty dusty poor air quality basement construction site with improvised 24 inch stack of bumper plates on 2×4’s and a step. seemed slow and low. i’ve never maxed out on a deadlift, never even gone over 245 or so, but 215 at 70% is 307…

    • Great work, Jack!

  17. 220 Deadlifts

    11 Rounds even

  18. McGhee (Made up a couple days late)
    186# DL
    14 rounds + 5 DLs
    Push-ups were usually 10/3 or 9/4


Leave a Reply

