Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Overhead Squat 5-5-5-5-5 reps

Post loads to comments.

Compare toΒ 090602.

Published in: on April 5, 2010 at 8:15 pm  Comments (37)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/04/05/tuesday-april-6-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Determined….did you get 3 rds??

    • No. I did 2 rounds, & 13 hang squat cleans.
      It was pretty brutal. I managed to complete 10 hang squat cleans each time. That helped a lot. Won’t be at power hour. Will try for thursday.

  2. Made a pr with my deadlift…405lbs!!!!

    • Congrats, Zeke! That’s phenomenal!

    • you are amazing

    • dude! sweet lift

    • slow down so I can catch up!

  3. Practiced OHS with jr bar. Having difficulty getting low enough but did improve.
    27-27-27-32-35f. Actually wasn’t too bad on the last set until the last rep that I ditched due to loss of focus, balance.

  4. Practiced OHS with low weight to ease back in after shoulder issues. Discovered my stance has been too wide. Narrower stance made it easier and made me feel more stable getting really low. Think the new shoes helped too. Shoulders held up pretty well but hurt when bringing the weight down after the set. Should try more weight next time.

    55 – 60 – 65 – 70 – 77

    • …there is no try πŸ˜‰

  5. Made up Saturday’s running wod

    1600 m: 7:30
    1200 m: 5:22
    800 m: 3:25
    400 m: 1:30 (also did another 400 m that i learned afterwards was short – that was 1:16)

    then OHS
    55/65/70/77/82×1/77

    Need to work on posterior chain – staying in heels and getting low enough. i am happy with the progress. 65 was the most I had squatted before today.

  6. Power Hour. Best day ever for me… finally succeeded with the muscle up (and then did 5). Whatever Michael said finally clicked.

    Prior to that, I screwed up the math on the OHS.

    1. 110
    2. 132
    3. 143
    4. 176 x2 failed on 3rd
    5. 159 x2 failed on 3rd

    I thought #4 was 154lbs, and then #5 was 148lbs until somebody pointed out my errors. I then did round 6 and failed on #3 again (159 – actually was lopsided – had 2.5 pounds on left only – 161.5lbs).

    • Congrats Dude! Just remember Muscle Ups are fun, until you HAVE to do them πŸ˜‰

      • Like today for example…

    • Awesome, Scott! Funny we were just talking about that on Friday. Great job!

      I SO agree w/ Damon’s comment

    • Congratulations! So I guess whatever we talk about over coffee comes true the next week.

      • So, Pat, can I talk to you about muscle ups too ??
        πŸ˜‰

        • I saw the first 2! Then you did 3 more? Way to go. I am impressed.

      • can we have coffee again on Friday, and can we talk about the lottery?

    • I am so sorry I missed them!!!! Congrats!!

  7. ate a bunch of jelly beans while reading of other’s accomplishments on the blog πŸ™‚

  8. 120-132-142-152PR – 159 (I got 4.75, I just could not lock out)

    Thanks Michael and Kelly – I really felt I was getting low on the heavier lifts.

    Congrats to Scott on the muscle ups!!!

  9. simply put, great effort all around @ today’s Power Hour! a few PR’s, a first muscle-up (several in fact!), and lots of great work on stance/position/form on the OHS’s…ain’t it cool what you can do during lunch πŸ™‚

  10. Way to go Scot on 1st MU’s!!! Also to everyone on they’re OHS….Its a tough motion to grasp. It took me several tries, but you all did great!

    Today I did OHS 5x5x5x5x5:
    110-132-154-164-174
    169# was my previous single PR, so today was breakthrough, so I decided to celebrate with:

    5 rounds of:
    400m run
    10 Muscle ups
    Finished in 17:39 and my body hates me!

    • You are awesome!!

    • a-n-i-m-a-l-!

  11. Congrats Scott, great to see it, I know you have been trying for awhile!

    OHS
    55-65-70-75f (didn’t get low enough) – 75

    Thanks Michael for helping me with the confidence I needed for the 75. Once I got over the fear of losing control, 75 was not that hard.

    This is a big PR as my one-rep max was 70!

  12. 22-32-44-49-54

  13. This whole workout was a PR for me. First time I’ve done it with any weight!

    22 (junior bar), 27, 33 (women’s bar), 38, 43f

    Remember next time: Pull hands apart to stabilize. Hold breath while weight is moving.

    • Go, Terri!

      • πŸ˜€

  14. Did 5 rounds of:
    400m run
    10 muscle ups

    time: 18:32

    I can’t believe I was anywhere near Kelly guy’s time! I figured I’d just try & finish. Changing my grip on the rings allowed me to split up my muscle ups 4/3/3. The crowning axhievment is that I didn’t fail ever & maintained my 4/3/3 split each round. Watch out Kelly….;-)

  15. put down my glass of wine and took care of this one in front of the brand new high speed front loading washer and dryer (tuesday night is new laundry night) which complement the basement renovation and new mini crossfit gym… problem is i don’t push myself enough at home. did ’em X3s instead of X5s out of lazyness maybe.

    overhead squats X3:
    64 – 84 – 89 – 94 – 99- 101 – 103 (first time ever putting > 100 lbs overhead and doing squats)

    also worked in 3 sets of X5 presses:
    64 – 89 – 103

    • Good for you to work at home!

    • LOL! sounds like we’re on the same page Jack…most of my workouts take place in my kitchen with crash-pads to cushion my Oly bar, no rack, & pull-ups on a “door-gym” (“as seen on TV”) πŸ™‚

  16. I guess I should say work out at home, with kids you have to work at home πŸ˜‰

  17. did some strength stuff and did a nice long warm-up to get myself back into working out after being off for several weeks.

    Deadlift
    1×5 at 115
    1×3 at 130 (and some change)
    1×2 at 164
    1×5 at 174


Leave a Reply

