Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Split Jerk 1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

Post loads to comments.

Compare to 091207.

Published in: on March 30, 2010 at 9:09 pm  Comments (21)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/03/30/wednesday-march-31-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Someone remind me: Is a split jerk a push jerk with a split landing or does it start with a clean? Please say the first thing please please please.

    • Fun, no-pressure day today. Laura helped me work on form, and I was much better at understanding and getting my body to follow. Yay.

      55-60-65-70-70f-65-55

      • Remember for next time: elbows stay up, push head through – exaggerate the movement and be aggressive!

  2. It is a Jerk with a firm split catch or landing.

    Here’s a pretty damn decent demo video 🙂

  3. Started antibiotics last night:-( Hopefully will feel well enough to make one of these workouts up before I leave town on Friday. Headed to Indy to watch my Blue Devils play in the Final Four!!

    • Feel better fast and GO Duke!

      • feel better and have a blast at game

  4. 110
    120
    130
    135
    140 (PR by 3. It wasn’t pretty, but I did it)
    140F (tried same weight again and failed
    110

  5. A little bummed and surprised this was harder for me than in December. My hips (where power’s supposed to come from) are smaller now, but shouldn’t be less muscle there. Not sure what’s different. I do need to remember to be fast and push the bar straight up, not around my head.
    44-54-59-66f-64f-59-66f

  6. nice workout group this morning. thanks to mac and all my gym buddies for the encouragement with the front squat/L pullup WOD. you guys are the best!

  7. Ran today as I am still getting back on the Crossfit horse this week. Paige, wasn’t able to blog yesterday, but it was great working out with you, as I believe we both pushed ourselves more with the other’s presence. Of course Damon’s optimism about our abilities and persuasiveness always helps. Pat – it was wonderful to chat yesterday.

    Oh yes, go Duke.

  8. Split jerk?
    Not too split and not too jerk…gotta work on form! Thanks Mac for helping me.

    65, 70, 77, 82, 87, 92f, 87

  9. Can’t make it in today, unfortunately. (probably a good thing, since my hands are up for PR’ing today) -Gotta pack for San Diego! Won’t be back in the gym until next week. Maybe I’ll check out Crossfit gyms in the area. I want to make up this work out though!

  10. 44
    49
    54
    59
    64
    69
    74

    I actually liked these (well, less and less as it got heavier).:) Thanks to Mac for his great coaching! This was my first for this exercise.

    • Nice, Kelly!

      • and thanks to your for all your encouragement Joy. You guys are all so inspiring. 🙂

  11. 5 rounds
    20 KB swings (1.5 pood)
    15 KB Front squats (1.5 pood)
    10 Burpees

    =11:18

  12. Ended with 176, then went back and practiced some more with 132 to work on my form. Need to jump from my heels.

  13. Ugh. Shoulders, shoulders, shoulders. Trying to slowly work back into moves like this:
    110 – 110 – 120 – 120 – 120 – 110 – 115

  14. 75, 75, 87, 87, 97(PR), 92, 92

    Need to practice being quicker and getting the footing right.

  15. 110 – 120 -125 – 132 – 137 – 142 – 145
    first time working on my split jerk – laura – many thanks for the coaching on this one… will be working on doing this with more commitment and less fear


Leave a Reply

