Monday, March 29, 2010

Five rounds for time of:
40 Double-unders
30 Box jumps, 24 inch box
20 Kettlebell swings, 1.5 pood

Post time to comments.

“If You’re a Woman, Go Harder
and Put More Weight on the Bar,”

courtesy of Lisbeth Darsh,
CrossFit Watertown

Rarely do I see women overestimate themselves.

We are excellent pacers. It’s like something intrinsic to our nature — some survival of the species instinct that almost forces us to go lighter, go just a tad slower, “save something” for the last round. We worry that our form is not right, that we’re not doing things well enough, that we should stay in the “minor leagues” just a tad longer before we’re ready to play with the big girls.

I saw it when I raced mountain bikes in California. The women’s “Beginner” category would be the largest, with a small Intermediate, and very few Expert or Pro racers. Even tough female mountain bike riders were reluctant to bump up from Beginner to Intermediate, scared that they were not ready for the next level. Over on the men’s side, the Intermediate cat was huge, with guys fighting to get into it, to prove themselves, to make it to the next level. The only men who stayed at the Beginner level were sand-baggers — guys with small cojones who wanted to dominate longer in the small pond with the little fish.

It’s time to get out of the small pond.

Women with the small weights on the bar and the extra gas left in the tank, I dare you to grow some cojones. Not literally. (Ewww.) But figuratively. Stop thinking of yourself as weaker than you are. Banish those “slow” or “old” thoughts from your head. Throw some mother****ing weight on the bar and make the lift happen. And run faster. And try for the extra pull-up and the handstand push-up. Maybe it won’t be perfect. Maybe you’ll fail. Maybe you’ll fail a bunch. I don’t care. That’s okay. You won’t die from failure here. More importantly, you’ll be living. Someone kinda famous once said to me: “You’re going to misstep and you’re going to find success. So what. I love you no matter how it turns out and most things are fixable (or not, so ****ing what).” This is the way to live life — with these thoughts in your head. Be bold, be brave, be invincible.

So, the next time you’re setting up your bar in a workout or you’re grabbing a kettlebell, go heavier. It’s worth a try. You might succeed, you might fail, but I’m going to love you no matter how it turns out.

(Words by Lisbeth Darsh of CrossFit Watertown.)

Published in: on March 28, 2010 at 8:01 pm  Comments (37)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/03/28/monday-march-29-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “Stop thinking of yourself as weaker than you are. Banish those ‘slow’ or ‘old’ thoughts from your head.”

    Thanks for the post, Laura. It’s yet another example of why CrossFitRx is the perfect gym for me. See everyone tomorrow! xo

    • Did this with double-unders 🙂 and jumps on 12″ of plates :(. Still struggling with box jumps, most likely because I never practice them like Laura and Damon have suggested.

      37:16

  2. Hey Laura,
    I vote we post this everyday til’May!! What’cha think?? 😉

    • Maybe I should print it and post it in the gym so it’s up EVERY DAY :mrgreen:

  3. great article! better than the fiscal policy I’ve been reading 😉

  4. 7:10 and the place is locked and dark. Everything okay?

  5. David and I were thinking the same thing…showed up at 6:30, but everything was closed.

  6. At least I wasn’t the only one out there this morning. So I don’t come for few weeks and I get locked out? Seriously, hope everything is okay.

  7. Damon must have overslept; I am SO sorry, guys! 😦

  8. Sitting in my car outside a locked gym at 7:41am- after reading the other posts I am really getting worried that something might have happened to Damon.

  9. I’m here at 7:55 and the gym is dark….I hope he’s OK….please post soon!

  10. Hey Guys,
    I’m so sorry Morning Crew. I have no idea what has happened, but for the first time in my 11 years doing this I totally overslept…by almost 3 hours. I just woke up dazed and confused, because I’ve done nothing that would cause me to sleep this long. I’m really sorry for those that showed up this morning. I promise it will not happen again 😦

    • Glad you’re okay, Damon!

    • glad to hear it!

    • We were all picturing the worst. Whew. Glad you’re OK! You must have needed the rest. Bossman isn’t a very good alarm clock, is he?

      • No he isn’t at all! I’m just really irritated because there is no REASON why I should not have gotten up. I had a nap yesterday, went to be on time, alarm was set properly, but didn’t wake up once until 8am. Strangely enough, neither of my phones were working this morning either, my personal, or the CFRx phone….I’m lost!

        • …i have a really loud, yellow, manual Curious George alarm clock you are welcome to have 🙂 it ticks so loudly i can’t have it anywhere near my bedroom…but it rings, oh does it ring!
          WEG
          (that’s “wicked evil grin” btw)

      • Sheryl and I did the coffee WOD at Radial.

        • And a very good, productive WOD it was!

        • …one of my FAVORITE benchmarks 🙂

  11. Glad everything is OK, Damon!

  12. Yes, Coach D, glad you’re okay! (Someone slip something in your drink?) We ran for about 25 minutes. I was ready to use a cinder block in lieu of a kettlebell and get with the WOD but the others deserted me, so I left as well. 🙂

    • I wish Joy…at least I would have a reason, or an explination. Being a big math and science guy, one of my biggest pet peeves is not understanding why something happens. Especially related to my body 😦
      I’m sorry again, for not making it in.

      • No problem– that’s so awesome you got some really solid sleep. I hope I do that some morning!
        Glad I made it back this afternoon. Great WOD.
        5 rounds
        Run 400m
        30 box hops 20″
        20 kettlebell swings 35lb
        38:04

  13. Rx 29:14

    This workout contains 2 of my 3 least favorite non-weight activities (DU and box jumps – the other is WB shots) so I am happy to just finish this. Both are getting much better, although I am sure that I wasted a TON of effort on the many, many missed DU : (

    • very good job!;)

  14. My first WOD in 11 days… and I won’t be away that long again. This time I mean it:)

    31:28 or so. Not my best showing, but my goal was to just get through it and suffer my punishment. I surely did

    • 31:28– I think that’s how long you were layin’ on the floor when it was done!

      • at least:)

  15. Thought for sure I’d have nightmares about DUs last night….

    Rx 42:02

  16. Made this up today. Hardest. Workout. Ever. First time doing DUs in a workout and on the last 25 I got so tired of missing them that I went to one at a time. Thanks Damon and good work, Susan.

    Time: 42:42

    Damon: Glad you were back in the swing this morning. All is probably well.

    • Congrats on double-unders, Paige!

  17. 400 meter run
    30 Box jumps, 24 inch box
    20 Kettlebell swings, (35 pound)

    46:38

  18. Did today – RX 35:36

  19. Did this WOD on Thursday. (Rx) 26:42.

  20. Five rounds for time of:
    400 m run
    30 Box jumps, 24 inch box
    20 Kettlebell swings, 55#
    lost my notes on time but think it was 34:00 or so…

  21. Made up a week late
    27:43 (RX)
    Consistent effort, but need to push intensity, particularly on box jumps. Did all 40 DU without missing on round 5.


Leave a Reply

