Saturday, February 6, 2010

Deadlift 5-5-5-5-5-5-5 reps

Post loads to comments.

Published in: on February 5, 2010 at 9:21 pm  Comments (33)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/saturday-february-6-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

33 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you (in advance) everyone for being so understanding and cooperative with the weekend schedule changes. Have a good time with the WODs and I will see you all possibly on Sunday, but definetely on Monday 🙂

    • i second that emotion 🙂 great job everyone showing up early this morning & getting “on the bar” for 7 (count ’em…7) heavy sets of 5 deads…CFRx’ers Rock!

  2. Go La Mar Go La Mar Go La Mar Go La Mar!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Oops! That was actually me, Terri, using Ruth’s computer again!! 🙂 But Ruth wants La Mar to GO, too, so it’s all good. Hahahahahaha!

      • I could totally tell that was you, Terri!

    • Ditto that!

      • Yeah, go La Mar!!! We’re all rooting for you!

  3. 154
    176
    198
    209
    214
    219
    224 (PR by 15 pounds)

    I never failed, but I think 224 was pretty near my 5 rep max. It was tough.

    Previous 5 RM: 209 on Aug 8.
    3 RM: 247 on Jan 18.
    1 RM: 263 on Nov 20.

    • Just checked the chart, and it says 5 rep max target is 87% of 1 RM. Should have checked this before the lift, but I was in the ballpark. 87% of my 1-RM is 229. I did 224 on the 7th lift and didn’t try for more. Next time I’ll check this in advance as I think having a target in mind is helpful.

      • Strong woman!

  4. 154-176-198-220-242-252-257
    Not sure if I’ve done a 5 rep DL max before so I’ll call it a PR.

    3RM: 252 (Jan 18, 2010)
    1RM: 264 (June 5, 2009)

    Good luck La Mar. Thanks to Michael for covering today.

  5. LaMar’s 7K is done! 29:24, I think? Either way it was 3rd or 4th for advanced men…great start. BTW, the run went through the river…twice 🙂

    • Woo hoo! Keep the updates coming.

    • YAY!

      • 15 Min AMRAP
        10 KT Swings 70#
        10 WB Shots

        LaMar got 11 rds + 5 swings
        Which looks to be upper/middle of the pack

    • Awesome!

    • Nice work LaMar. Way to represent!

      • OK, his last WOD is done…
        For Time:
        Approx 60m uphill sprint (w/120# Sandbag)
        10 Over the shoulder Cleans w/sandbag
        Sprint back down hill w/sandbag
        20 Dead Lifts 315#

        5:06

        Fastest time was just over 3:30 and many guys failed to finish before the 10 minute cap.

        So far the total results for today aren’t complete, but naturally there has already been some confusion and discrepancy in the results so far…He’s doing well, but we’ll see.

        • on the edge of my seat. . .

  6. Okay, somehow I totally missed that the gym hours would be different this weekend. Just having coffee and mentally gearing up…to find that I missed my chance! Guess I’ll get my lazy self up earlier tomorrow.

    Go La Mar! You rock! Sending good vibes in the direction of Woodstock. Thanks Damon for posting his progress!

  7. I did a CrossFit Kids WOD today… per Michael’s suggestion.

    Run 800
    30 Toes to Bar
    Run 800
    30 Back Extensions
    Run 800
    30 Knees to Elbows
    Run 800
    30 Good Mornings (45lb bar)

    My time was something like 27:04. Not bad and helped ease (temporarily) some of the whole body soreness I am experiencing.

    • LOL…you were a good sport today S

  8. We’re cheering La Mar from afar! Tell him, Damon!

    I didn’t have my records and hadn’t been sure I had done the sets of 5 before, but now I see I had and have gone up 30 lbs since August. Today I did 90% of my recent 1 rep max so that feels good. Not that my back feels good…
    5x 110 PR
    5x 132 PR
    5x 134 PR
    5x 132
    5x 132
    5x 134
    5x 134

    • Awesome job, Joy! Enjoyed doing this wod with you this morning.

      • Thanks, Pat! You inspire me with all your heavy lifting!

  9. Nice to see so many people this AM!

    143-148-153-158-165-143

    At 165, my form was sucking so Mac suggested I back off and get the reps in with good form. (thanks!) Thanks to Michael too for great coaching.

  10. 110-125-137-144-147-154-160
    Thanks Michael for helping me with my form!

    BTW I left my RED water bottle at the gym. I’ll be back for it Tuesday or Thursday:)

  11. I really appreciate the encouraging words everyone…it means alot. I’m about five feet away from my couch so I have to keep it short…today was grueling, fun, and an amazing experience. Damon was my anchor throughout the day and Michael S. ran down the hill with me during the last wod which made all the difference in the world. I’m looking forward to tomorrow.

    • We are so proud of you!

    • wow, you were CRAZY strong today! Great work La Mar 🙂 have fun out there tomorrow!!

      • I must say, you shocked me with how fast you got through those DeadLifts!! I think like 5 dudes got down the hill before you, but only 1 or 2 finished before you…impressive Dude!

    • GREAT JOB, La Mar!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  12. Did an alternate wod at Crossfit Atlanta. The new gym hours for this weekend were just too early for me! haha

    Back squats at 73#
    3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3-3 (rest one minute in between each set)
    The point of this was to go slowly down into the squat and then once you get to the bottom of the squat you try to push through the heels and move up with the weight as fast as you can and then go immediately into the next rep. Trying to get momentum out of the bottom of the squat was a challenge. Kind of a different way to do back squats and since I often associate these wods with taking a lot of time, it was nice to be done fairly quickly.

    So glad to hear LaMar is doing well! I hate that I missed seeing him compete.


Leave a Reply

