Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Griff

For time:
Run 800 meters
Run 400 meters backwards
Run 800 meters
Run 400 meters backwards

Post time to comments.

Compare toΒ 080803.

Published in: on February 1, 2010 at 8:06 pm  Comments (46)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/02/01/tuesday-february-2-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

46 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OMG. I have just one thing to say about running backwards: NO.

    • I thought it might be fun. Now I see it’s supposed to be raining all morning. May have to be an afternoon person again tomorrow.

    • I have just one thing to say about running backwards: YES!

      22 minutes on the 200m indoor track at Emory. It was FUN! How’d that happen?? πŸ™‚

      • good for you to do it!

  2. Any way we could do the power hour at GSU? They have a track πŸ™‚ lol! Will try to make the noon session, otherwise 4 pm.

    • Indoor track sounds like a safe way to do this for an old woman like me. Maybe I should renew my Emory gym membership tomorrow and go tomorrow night. Yes! Or maybe just buy a one-day pass …

  3. Much more inspiring than today’s workout. Not sure if I can make it in tomorrow, but I’ll look forward to running backwards on Wednesday.

  4. Between this and the broad jumping/hopping that was done a few months back, the people driving along Dekalb Ave are going to get quite the show!

  5. This looks hard. Will it be hard? It looks hard.

  6. i did the church route last time. it was easier bc the road is clear and wide and you dont have to turn as much. its easier to stride out even if there is a slight incline on the way back.

  7. I’ve got plenty of other WODs to make up… I am certainly not running backwards anywhere.

  8. I’ll be in at 5pm. It’s suppose to be dry by then.

  9. Great job to the 3 ladies that came in and chose to do the running this morning…Not saying ALL you others didn’t do well also, I’m just saying πŸ˜‰

  10. Today’s my official 1-year anniversary at CFRX! Yay for me!

    Wanted to celebrate by doing this Rx but felt certain I’d bust my ass this morning running backwards in the dark and the wet alongside the traffic on Dekalb Ave.

    Subbed an AMRAP of (50) 15-inch box hops and 400m sprints:
    5 rounds + 50 box hops

    • Happy Anniversary, Mike. Congrats on completing your first year of crossfit. Sorry not to be there with you this morning. Erica and I texted last night and decided to wait until 5pm to do this workout. But I forgot about it being your anniversary. 😦

      • You rock, Mike!

        • Happy Anniversary Mike!! Ain’t it grand what a difference 365 makes πŸ˜‰

    • Happy Anniversary, Mr. Mike!!! It’s all uphill from here. πŸ˜‰

  11. Power Hour!!! Ya’ll come!

    • Sorry to miss the power hour! Sick child. I plan to be there Thurs.

      • You must have heard us talking about you πŸ˜‰ I promise I WILL be there Thursday as well!

      • I’m gonna try to make it too, gave an exam today so class ran late…

  12. Did the workout Rx (I hardly EVER get to say that!):

    19:19

    But then it was light and not raining when I came in, so it wasn’t bad.

    • Way to go, Paige!

  13. Since Griff is the only CrossFit WOD I refuse to do, I made up my own:

    Row 1k
    50 Pushups
    Row 1k
    50 Situps
    Row 1k
    50 Pushups
    Row 1k
    50 Situps
    Row 1k

    Took about 32 minutes. I will do this next time Griff shows up too I think.

    • I can’t believe that you would do the speedo run but won’t do Griff.

      • HA!!

      • At least the speedo I was running and could see where I was going. Next I’m running the fig leaf race…;)

  14. Came to power hour. Quickly looked at the route and then took off. I got 16:00 even. I was quite disappointed, then I looked at the map again, instead of running to Marta entrance, I ran all the way down the hill to the light. Probably added about 500 meters total. I definitely will try this one again.

    • Yea Dude, that’s extra…and to still make 16 mins is fast!

      • I guess I was making up for only 4 rounds yesterday.

      • Just think of all of the extra calories you burned πŸ™‚

  15. gonna have to miss the backward run…work meeting after hours. See ya tomorrow!

    • you mean happy hour?

      • Haha…I wish! It actually was a very long, strategic planning kind of meeting for an agency I volunteer with…given how this meeting went, I would have loved to run backwards in the cold rain! haha

  16. Props to the ones who did this in the dark this morning. I enjoyed doing this WOD in the afternoon. Chasing the faint trails of the super fast ones kept me going.
    RX 17:37

  17. After I finished, I felt the old feeling of finishing a cross country run – ahhhhh…well, not really. Wished the first 800 was faster but happy with the rest.

    13:42

  18. Griff as prescribed with backward running and all.
    18:46

    Last time I did this in 19:02 so I shaved a whopping 16 seconds off my time today! πŸ˜€ I am strong, but I am surely not fast.

  19. Kudos to all you out there who carried on the tradition of entertaining the neighborhood! I’m stuck in a conference & late meetings all week…..my own private hell. Laura, thanks for the rec – Dr. Sadri is my new best friend. He says there’s not much wrong that he can’t fix with a lot of torture(I just have to deal with being old and creaky). Hope to see you all soon.

  20. 18:06 feeling pretty good about that as I ran a little extra towards the Salon Red and crossed the street each time. Backwards running makes a nice thigh burn uphill.

  21. 13:17. Very interesting. Couldn’t catch up to Trish after the first 800!

  22. 12:50

    Quad burner! Thanks Erica, for setting the pace!!

  23. Trish, Erica and Therese clearly need to do these WODs together!

    • Nice work ladies.

  24. Got some interesting looks from the evening commute.
    14:04

  25. First time doing Griff. Made up a day late as a part of a day/night Kelly/Griff double header.

    11:22 including 1 close call with a car that wasn’t amused by my running backwards in the middle of Mell.


Leave a Reply

