Monday, January 25, 2010

Five rounds for time of:

Row 500 meters
135 pound thruster, 7 reps

Post time to comments.

We are all born with the ability to squat...

Published in: on January 24, 2010 at 8:55 pm  Comments (37)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/monday-january-25-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. 21:10, Rx

    Thrusters were in sets of 4/3 mostly, except for last round which was 2/3/2.

    • Just read Damon’s post, and he reminded me that I need to row faster on this workout and workouts like it. I could have/should have pushed harder on the row. I think I did near my best on the thrusters, but should have worked harder on the row. Next time.

      • OK, but that’s a GREAT time.

      • Awesome job Pat!

  2. 110# for thrusters
    23:06

  3. 110 lb thrusters
    20:49

    Gotta give a big shout-out to Damon for:

    A) Getting me to pace my double-under attempts better (it helped a lot); and
    B) Not letting me get away with 95 lbs on the thrusters. He was right, 110 was hard but manageable. He even reminded me that I did Fran at Rx. I didn’t remember this myself and had to check my book. Sure enough, back in mid-November. That’s a great coach — someone who knows you better than you know yourself and pushes you to become better every day.

    Thanks, Damon!

    • No problem Mike, that’s what we’re here for. When you leave your confidence at home…we keep jugs of it in the fridge πŸ˜‰

      • My confidence isn’t in the fridge! Somebody drank it by accident, didn’t they?

  4. ANGRY!!!
    I only had 2 goals going into this workout…Try to beat Miguel and NOT TO LET 20 MINS CATCH ME!!! Fail and big fail!

    I thrusted my last rep at 19:56 and didn’t make the f’ing lock out…then it took me almost a full minute to squat clean it and thrust it back up 😦

    As Rx 20:52

    Should have rowed faster…only had 2 rows under 2 mins and that isn’t acceptable anymore!

    • I need to row faster too!

    • …sounds like your back is getting stronger & stronger with each workout though πŸ˜‰ that’s a TON of seriously heavy thrusters..Nice work!

      • Stronger, yes! Faster, still working on it. This one almost brought the vomit out of me…got it in though!!

  5. Wasn’t feeling too strong since we had a little celebratin’ and not much sleeping at my house last night. My pseudo-grandbaby (my sister’s first grandchild) was born last night and the new grandparents were staying with me where we also celebrated the new granddad’s birthday.
    Tried 49# on the thrusters but couldn’t really deal.
    47# worked.
    21 min.

    • Congrats on the new baby, psuedo-grandma.

  6. 81# for thrusters
    19:something

    Ditto on the shout out to Damon. When I explained I didn’t think Rx was the best thing for me today he (1)gave me the look (2) asked “just how long will this ‘coming back’ phase last?” and then (3) reminded me there’s a lot of room between 66 and 95.

    • Lookout! Sheryl’s back. πŸ˜€

      • Shhh, doin’t tell her…I don’t think she knows yet πŸ˜‰

        • I think she knows. . . if not, she’s getting suspicious.

        • Yay!

        • Hey guys, I’m right here. I can hear you.

          • LOL!

  7. 19:33 RX
    Not bad considering my miserable attendance in 2010 so far.

    1st set was 4/3/2 and then after that they were mostly 2s, some 3s. I kind of liked this – mainly the rep count of 7 (sure beats 15).

    • 4/3/2??

      Tell me you didn’t do 9 thrusters each round?

      • Ha, no, I just have been staring at numbers all day and apparently have confused thrusters with the medical data in my head:)

        I think I did 4/3 the first round, then 2/2/3 and then 2/2/2/1 … or something close to that.

  8. 70 lb thrusters

    23:04

    Happy with rows, they were between 2:00 and 2:15, since rowing will never be a strength for me, I am pleased.
    Thrusters are also very difficult for me but that just means I need to work harder on getting stronger πŸ™‚

  9. 19:?? with 76#

    Rows went well- first was <2:00, remainder 2:03-2:10. Thrusters are always a challenge. First round 3-2-2, remainder 4-3.

  10. 22:59 with 70 pound thrusters

  11. I came in about 11 hours later than usual. Nice to join the PM crowd for a change. Really hate rowing so I made up yesterday’s workout. Went light with the DL weight and went slowly to focus on form and protect my back. It felt really good. Pull-ups were strong and I didn’t rip!

    132# DL

    21:06

    • Made up today’s WOD on Tuesday.

      Really wasn’t looking forward to it because I despise rowing, but it wasn’t that bad. Was going to do 66# because I am tentative with my back, but Damon encouraged me to push it a little, so I did 76#. Glad I did.

      18:18
      76# thrusters (did all but round 3 unbroken – that was 5/2)

  12. Had a work obligation this evening and couldn’t make it in to the gym…and tomorrow morning is our yearly Stop Violence Against Women Lobby Day at the Capitol and I have something else going on the evening, so I will probably miss tomorrow too 😦

    So, see everyone Wednesday.

  13. Made this up this morning.

    60# thrusters

    Time: 25:15

    I am way impressed with all the sub-2 minute rows…I am happy to get below 2:30!

    • Great, Paige! I say 60lbs is heavy for thrusters!

      • It *IS*!

  14. 98# at 21:03. Felt pretty good except for the taste of regurgitation.

  15. 110# and 27:57 – still feeling that deadlift/pullup/hand rip business from Sunday, and the rowing seriously took something out of the thrusters, which felt super heavy at 110, shit 95 feels super heavy on Fran. i think rowing was like < 1:50 < 2:00 < 2:05 < 2:15 then like 2:20 or so on the last one. Felt like no gas in the tank after the second row… got the shoes, prob need to work on diet or something next. JT

  16. 55#, 23:53 πŸ™‚

    Doesn’t look like I’ve done Fran since February 09, when my weight was 38#, so this is an improvement!

  17. […] Compare toΒ 100125. […]


Leave a Reply

