Friday, December 11, 2009

Complete five rounds of:
On the rings, lower from an inverted hang, slowly, with straight body and arms, 7 reps
15 Ring Push-ups
Move SLOWLY and methodically attempting perfect execution. Ideally this is done with two pairs of rings – one pair hung app. 8′ off the ground and the second 4″ off the ground.

Post impressions to comments.

This video shows the basic idea:
Miranda Gets Inverted on the Rings – video … [wmv] [mov]

*Obviously, we will have an alt WOD available :mrgreen:

Published in: on December 10, 2009 at 8:38 pm  Comments (33)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/friday-december-11-2009/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

33 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Kelly/Zeke – I HAVE to get at least one of you doing this WOD on video!

  2. I might be cursed for saying this but…this wod looks like alot of fun πŸ™‚

    • I’m psyched to try this, too! Don’t know if I’ll be able to do it but can’t wait to try.

  3. Kelly – do you have esp? We were just playing around with the rings doing these movements at the Tuesday noon session.

    • Oh, good – so I can blame you two for this workout, then! πŸ˜‰

      • fair enough… but it looks fun!

    • Yeah…pretty ironic! We were actually tampering around with a back lever, looks like this one is more of a pre-cursor to the front lever. Which is hard as shit!
      YAY

      • yeah, it was fun watching you guys…

  4. I think you’re all crazy. I’ll be interested to see what the alt wod is. πŸ˜‰

  5. Mirandas pretty smokin!! Anybody with me?

    Oh yeah….the WOD, looks like a ton of fun! Laura, I’m gonna give it a go for sure! Unfortunately it will have to wait until Saturday morning….
    see ya’ll then

    • (yeah, I’ll agree with that comment)

      • …agree that the WOD looked like tons of fun, yes? πŸ˜‰

    • Agreed.

  6. My impressions:

    First of all, I love being given permission to “Post Impressions”…since that’s what I do every day anyway. πŸ˜‰

    Secondly, I’m very IMPRESSED with all of you upside-down people this morning. I was greeted by an inverted Hannah. Who knew she could do that? Not even she, apparently. And then Sara, Zeke, Mike, Patrick, and all the rest. Very IMPRESSIVE!

    And I’m proud of myself for trying it a few times. But to get inverted on the rings, you need a solid KTE…which I don’t have. So my alt workout was:
    5 Rounds
    15 of the best KTE’s I could do.
    15 perfect plank pushups
    (not for time, but for perfect form)

    My KTE’s improved a little over the 5 rounds, and since I was going slowly, I had a chance to think about what I need to focus on in order for them to improve. My pushups have gotten so much better in recent weeks. Today, I tried to do each one perfectly, and with my feet together instead of the wide-stance I’ve been using (feet together is a little harder).

    Overall, I think it’s a great idea to have an occasional skills-day. Fun morning!

  7. I agree with Pat that it is nice to have a day off the clock working on skills. I worked on knees to elbows and plank push ups, and loved watching upside down people on the rings. It was especially fun to do a handstand while looking at others inverted way above me.

  8. Hey all CFRX people! Come to the Iron Pour at GSU this saturday evening! The peak time for watching the pouring of lots of molten metal will likely be between 5-8pm. It is FREE to watch, small donation if you want to hang around for the party or make a scratch block and take home a cast iron artwork of your own creation!

    184 Edgewood Avenue, corner of Edgewood and Piedmont.

  9. I agree that it was nice to be off the clock and practicing a new skill today for a change. Getting up into the inverted position was the easy part for me. Coming down slowly was hard. I did mostly one straight leg-one bent leg, but I did a few with both legs straight. I could control my position until about the 10 o’clock position, when gravity took over and I came down fast after that. At the time it seemed like a lot of stress on my shoulders when coming down, but a few hours later my shoulders feel better than they have in weeks, like it really loosened them up (we’ll see how things feel tomorrow). I liked doing the slow ring push-ups too. Felt like I got a lot more out of them going slow and really concentrating on making each one perfect than when we’re going for time.

  10. It’s kind of weird not to post a time. The inverted hang movement was great because it relies on a chain of muscles to work in concert…so it taught me a few things about my body and highlighted areas to work on. There was a playful element to it which gave me a chance to laugh a little which is positive. My ego led me to believe that I would pick things up a bit faster but I did most of the inverted hangs to standing position with a bent leg. Overall, this wod is an example of the way CrossFit forces us to expand our physical & mental boundaries.

    • well said.

      • I haven’t even done the WOD, but I feel like I have! Crazy! Lamar, your like a book on tape…I feel as though I’ve already done the workout

  11. crossfit is going cirque de soleil on us! the ring movements were a little scary at first….i was afraid to let go while inverted. the tough part was for me to get upsideside down and keeping the rings still, but once i was, i enjoyed trying to come out of it in a controlled manner. hands got sore, and i wanted to join mike and martha for breakfast so i did 3 rds.

    i liked the ring pushups.

    • haha…so are you bringing out the tights Hwang!? You know, to incorporate Crossfit and cirque de soleil!

      • gosh no! rx would have no members left!

        • forget the tights…it’s speedo season πŸ˜‰

  12. Wow. Impressions. I agree with Kelly that this is WAY harder than the back levers we were doing on Tuesday. I was never really good at rings, but the body control needed as you come from the hang is incredible. I think the best thing to do is have these as part of my warmup. It hits a lot of various muscles (if not all), but primarily in the shoulders. I think there’s something to this movement and wod, and I, for one, enjoyed it a lot.

    It was great seeing so many people hang upside down. It’s wods like this one that make me appreciate crossfit more and more. And not JUST crossfit, but following HQ. It’s one more reason to believe in the programming as it is.

    Way to go Damon and Laura for being true to the program!!

  13. I loved this! I agree with all the comments about how nice it is to not focus on time, but something skill-based like this. I like the variety.

    That said, I was at the gym for an hour and a half or so (and had it to myself strangely enough). I mixed it up with muscle up attempts (sadly, just attempts still) after every couple of inverted ring things too though.

  14. Today was so much fun. I can’t do handstands, have little balance, and have a fear of being upside down…but I DID IT!!! Who knew???? I loved Pat’s face when she walked in and saw me inverted. I was truly challenged today and I am glad I listened to my Crossfit peeps and tried the WOD. Barnum and Bailey here I come…. πŸ˜‰

    • You were great today, Hannah — your form was perfectly straight when inverted. Nice work!

    • This is seriously cool, Hannah.

  15. Surprisingly, getting inverted on the rings was not as difficult as I thought it might be. Did play around with this last week one day with Kelly…so that probably helped. I really liked the ability to take it slow, be methodical, think about controlled movements…I agree it was a nice change of pace. So difficult though! Found that pointing my toes helped. Overall, this was fun!

  16. Tried to get upside down about 12 times. Worked on plank push ups, KTEs, and double unders.

  17. Had a GREAT time with this workout. Very different. Was suprised that I could get upside down 35 times…slowly coming down was a different story.

  18. […] Compare toΒ 091211. […]


Leave a Reply

