Saturday, November 21, 2009

For time:
21 Handstand push-ups
400 meter Run
21 Weighted pull-ups
15 Handstand push-ups
400 meter Run
15 Weighted Pull-ups
9 Handstand Push-ups
400 meter Run
9 Weighted Pull-ups

Post time and weight used for pull-ups to comments.

Published in: on November 21, 2009 at 1:08 am  Comments (22)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crossfitrx.wordpress.com/2009/11/21/saturday-november-21-2009/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like how lively Saturdays are. Fun to have time to watch the second group at it when I’m done.

    22:45 pike push ups from red box; blue band

  2. agreed. Great energy this morning.

    13:33, 20# vest for weighted pull-ups. first 15 HSPUs w/ 1 abmat, rest w/o no abmat.

    did first 15 HSPUs unbroken so lost the abmat after that, but didn’t get all the way to the floor. My goal is to do HSPUs RX – need to work my negatives.

    Nice work everyone!

  3. Good to back after battling a cold. Worked out with Laura…

    Rx (30# vest) – 12:52

    Felt strong throughout HSPUs and pull-ups. First time testing achilles and it felt alright…there will be a psychological adjustment to deal with.

    • That’s pretty impressive, especially coming back from sickness. Nice work!

    • dang! that’s super-speedy La Mar…Great job!

    • BTW…does anyone else think it’s odd that HQ has already posted tomorrow’s WOD and it’s only…what, like not even 8 pm? i’m just saying… 🙂

  4. 18:16
    I got confused and omitted the last 9 pike pushups so I did them after I was finished.
    -subbed 500m row for the run due to swollen knee
    -blue band for pullups
    -24″ box for pike pushups – need to figure out how to progress with these…these have gotten to easy so I need the next progression, but I still don’t have a handstand. Maybe pike pushups on my toes? Maybe work on getting a handstand?

    Good to have you back, Sheryl!

  5. Great group this morning! So many people upside down …

    • …that made me almost snort-laugh 🙂

  6. Seriously cool CrossFit-related moment: Today a massage therapist asked me, “Are you a runner?” Ha!!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 That’s a first, folks!

    • That IS cool!

    • Nice!!! : )

  7. My time came in somewhere between 13:15 and 13:30. I should have made this one harder on myself. Used red bands for HSPUs and did 17 unbroken in the first set. (I zoned on the second set and did 21 again instead of 15 — duh!) Wore 20 lb vest on pull-ups and they were almost like doing them unweighted. Next time need to go for less band (or no band) on HSPUs and 30 lb vest!

    • Time: 18:37
      Pike pushups on red box
      Pull ups with blue band

      I really need to make myself do the pushups better and make my head touch the floor every time.

    • Jeez, Mike, nice work!

  8. One of my biggest weaknesses is HSPUs, so I don’t know why I decided to make it even harder by using plates to go a little below parallel…it destroyed me immediately and killed my motivation.

    As Rx’d
    HSPUs with hands on 10k plates
    20# weighted pull-ups

    19:13

    • funny you should mention those plates…after watching everyone use em’ yesterday, i was “this close” to using some today…but opted to just use a thin yoga mat to cushion the mellon while kipping (so might have lost .25 inch ROM)and almost did the whole first set unbroken…clearly need to start working HSPU’s w/o kips (& forget the clock)…13:01 oh, a fun discovery: used my larger camelback with waist-belt + various handweights (padded by a t-shirt so they wouldn’t bump into my lower back while kipping)as my 30# weight vest…worked MUCHO better than slinging weight plates between my legs…for so many reasons 🙂

  9. I think I am too low on this squat, and my legs are kinda inward, but oh well…it’s a cool pic nonetheless.

    I used the 20# vest for pull-ups, and two blue bands for HSPU. Did the last 9 pullups unbroken and as Laura pointed out, could have probably done the 15 round unbroken too. Need to trick myself into thinking that each round is the last round, in order to get my motivation up.

    20:41

    • very cool pic!

  10. used blue/black bands for harnessed HSPUs and 10 lb dumbell for the weighted pullups.

    first time doing weighted pullups. would like to figure out a better method of holding the weight. i had the dumbell squeezed in between my legs but that was tiring and interfered with my kip. michaelsaurus suggested a small backpack for this in the future…

    25:32

  11. 21:10
    Disasterous and complicated workout. Used assistance with red bands on HSPU that I basically started doing one at a time. Had a 10# dumbell between my thighs (weird) that became a little more comfortable after a few. I got well above the bar and felt that they became easy so next time I will definitely wait on a backpack for more weight.

  12. Made this up on Dec. 1st.

    16:33 – 15# vest, tan bands on HSPUs. Will use tiny bands next time.


Leave a Reply

